answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Unearned run

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

e 2

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you score a swinging third strike and passed ball when runner reaches safely?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does a passed ball in baseball prevent a perfect game when the runner reaches first base?

Yes, it does. In order to be a perfect game, no opposing player can reach first base safely. It doesn't matter if it was by way of an error or a passed ball, the runner cannot reach first. Bottom line, 27 batters get up and all 27 batters must be retired. No exceptions.


What is a rundown in softball?

When the ball is thrown to a base where the runner is trying to advance. The runner instead of continuing to the base stops and tries to return to the base from which they came. The fielder then throws the ball to that base causing the runner to change their direction again and so forth until the runner is tagged out or safely reaches a base.


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


If a runner gets picked off but returns to the base safely is it an error?

no because if he made it safely he is A OK


What energy is a base runner slides safely into third base?

kinetic


If a runner is hit with the ball running to secondbase is the batter credited with a hit when there is two outs?

No. Runner must reach 1st safely.


Can a hitter be considered a force out after he reaches first safely but rounds first?

No, once the batter/runner reached 1st he would need to be tagged out if he rounds 1st. He would be credited with a single (if everything else met the criteria for a base hit) -- then if you tagged him he would be out


Why don't passed balls count as errors?

If the play is scored as a passed ball it is an error. It should only be scored a passed ball/wild pitch if a runner advances, or on the third strike the batter reaches first base safely. The scoring is sometimes a judgment call. Some statisticians are more strict on calling it a passed ball or wild pitch.


What is a putout of a base runner who is required to run and cannot make it to the next base safely?

a force out.


After laying down a bunt the batter clearly runs on the infield grass and is not inside the first baseline Is this interference and will he be called out?

This is Interference, but whether the runner is called out depends on what happens. A throw to 1st base where the runner interferes with the play is certainly grounds for them to be called out. Also if the throw to 1st base hits the runner in fair territory, they should be called out for interference. The fielder should throw to 1st base as if the runner were following the rules and running in foul territory. If they choose not to and move to allow the throw to reach 1st base without hitting the runner reaches safely, the umpires are allowed to interpret the rules as though the runner is either out or safe.


When is a baserunner not protected after reaching first base for example after a batter-runner safely reaches first base and turns in foul territory when is he no longer protected?

After a batter has hit a ball and runs to first base he is allowed to over run the bag (base) ... If the base runner turns left in the siltiest way it is seen as if his going for 2nd base (even if he walks back to first) he can be tagged out ...


What energy transformation occurs when a base runner slides safely into third base?

The energy transformation that occurs when a base runner slides safely into third base is primarily mechanical energy being converted into heat energy due to friction between the player and the dirt on the base path. Additionally, some of the energy may also be converted into sound energy as the player makes contact with the ground.