answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The only other way I can think of that a runner would score from a fly-out without tagging up would be when the fielder catches the fly ball and then throws it into the infield and the infielder doesn't catch the ball properly, allowing the runner to advance home on an error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you score a runner that advances a base but not scoring a run after tagging up when the batter had a fly out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


An action by a batter that advances the runner to another base resulting in the batter being put out?

The action is called a sacrifice. The batter may bunt the ball to move a runner to scoring position. The batter may hit a fly ball into the outfield so that the runner on third can tag up and cross the plate. The batter may hit a ball that goes to a certain part of the infield where the only play the fielder can make is to first.


Is anyone credited with a run batted in when a runner steals home?

No because the batter had nothing to do with the runner scoring.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


If a batter grounds out to second base and a runner advances is the batter charged a time at bat?

Yes.


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


What is sacrifice fly in softball?

A sacrifice fly in softball is when they batter sacrifices themselves (meaning they are getting an out) to score the runner or to move the runner into scoring position.


Is the runner safe or out if the fielder loses the ball while tagging the runner?

Safe


Is it a sacrifice if a runner is on third with one out and the batter grounds out to second base with the runner on third scoring?

AnswerNo. Unless the runner scores, it is NOT a sacrafice fly. If a batter flies out while a runner is on either 1st or 2nd base, tags up and advances to the next base, it is simply ruled as a flyout with the runner advancing, and the "at bat" will still be charged to the batter. A sacrafice fly scores the runner after he tags up, the batter does not get charged with an "at bat", and he also gets credit for a run batted in (RBI).I disagree. If a batter bunts and the runner advances, it is a sacrifice. So it would stand to reason that if you fly out, and the runner advances, then it would be as well.To Above:It's not a matter of disagreeing, it's a matter of MLB rules as designated by the rulebook. A sacrifice fly is not the same as a sacrifice bunt, a hit is only a sacrifice fly if the runner can tag and score. The reason being that a sacrifice fly is not scored as an official at-bat due to it's strategic value, thus it doesn't count against your batting average; since it's impossible to determine whether or not a batter is going long for strategy, or just swinging for the bleachers, you thus only get the sacrifice if the runner scores, all other fly-balls count against your average. A bunt is far more obvious in it's intent to move a runner, thus a bunt that moves a runner is a sacrifice.


In NCAA baseball a batter bunts with a runner on second base and advances him to third is this a sacrifice?

Yes it is considered a sacrifice.


What action happens when a runner advances to a base without any action form a batter in baseball?

a steal or balk


Who is credited with scoring a run when using a courtesy runner?

The courtesy runner is credited with scoring the run.