answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Its still an out. If the runner is thrown out before reaching the next base it doesn't matter where the ball was hit. In tr same scenario say the barter hits a ball off the outfield wall but the runner at second twists an ankle and hits the ground and is unable to advance, it'd still be a force play and no hit.

To answer the question it is scored as a fielders choice or 7-5 FC. The batter is charged with an at bat and not credit with a hit.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-07 20:42:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you score a play when there are runners on 1st and 2nd with 2 out and the batter hits a ball to left field and clearly would be safe but the runner from 2nd is slow and gets thrown out at 3rd?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Runners on 3rd and 1st and the batter makes a 6-4-2-double play does the batter get an rbi?

No, because the 2 part means the runner on third was thrown out


Is it catcher's interference if the bat hits the glove on the follow through?

Yes, interference will be called if the umpire judges the catcher hindered the batter. If the ball is hit and the batter runner successfully reaches first and runners forced to advance or were stealing a base advanced the interference is ignored. If the batter runner is thrown out the manager has the option to accept the outcome of the play or accept the interference call placing the batter runner on first. If other runners are on base the manager's choice will affect them too. Accepting an interference call would require non-forced runners to return to their base. Consider a runner on third with no or one out when interference occurs. The batter runner is thrown out while the runner on third scores. Accepting the interference would require the runner scoring from third to return to third.


In baseball if there are two outs and a runner on third and the batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first does a run score if the runner got home before the batter was thrown out?

nope, as long as you get the out no runs count.


2nd and third with 1 out batter hits ball off pitcher and runner attempts to score and is thrown out does batter get a hit?

If the runner who started on 3rd base is the one thrown out at home, no it is not a hit. It is ruled a fielder's choice


A batter hits a ball to SS with a man on 2nd. He gets thrown out at 1st but advances the runner to 3rd does this count as an at bat towards his batting average or is it a sacrifice hit?

This is simply an out. Sacrifices are only given to bunts that advance all runners or fly outs where a runner scores.


How many bases do you receive if a fielder catches a ball in his cap?

If it is a batted ball, the batter and all runners are awarded 3 bases. If it is a thrown ball, the batter and all runners are awarded 2 bases from whatever base they had occupied when the ball was thrown.


What happens if a base runner intentionally interferes with a thrown ball?

Runner is out. Other runners must return to the base they occupied at the instant of the interference. If the runner was trying to break up a double play, the other runner is also out.


If there are two outs in the inning and there is a person on second with a full count and he steals and the batter walks can the runner get thrown out at third?

The runner on second base can be thrown out provided that first base is empty


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


Does the runner score from third if batter tries to stretch a single and gets thrown out at second base?

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.


Is it a plate appearance if the batter gets thrown out but a runner scores from third base?

It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.


Is it a sacrific if the batter bunts a ball with runners on first base and third base and is thrown out at first?

yes


How many hits can you get in one half inning without scoring a run?

My son heard me read this question out loud and immediately piped up with six. Then he said five and went back to say six again. He is not 100% certain, but would love to hear from others on what they think is the correct answer. OK, Crystal. My pipes are warmed up and ready to go. The answer would be 6 and here is one scenario: First batter hits a triple and is thrown out at the plate trying for an inside the park home run. No runners on and one out. Second batter hits a triple and is thrown out at the plate trying for an inside the park home run. No runners on and two outs. Third batter hits a single. Runner on first and two outs. Fourth batter hits a single. Runners on first and second and two outs. Fifth batter hits a single. Bases loaded and two outs. Sixth batter hits a ball that strikes one of the runners. The runner is declared out and the batter is credited with a single. Six hits, no runs.


When a runner is thrown out at 1st base and no other runners are on base Where does the 1st baseman throw the ball?

I believe he throws it back to the Pitcher.


Does the run count if it is made before an out is called?

A run counts if the runner crossed the plate legally and before the third out. If the runner crosses the plate even a half-second before the third out is tagged on the basepaths, then the run counts. If the out is made a half-second before the runner crosses the plate, then the run does not count. One exception is that with two outs the runner cannot score until all forced runners have reached their bases safely. That is, if the batter-runner is thrown out at first even after the runner crossed the plate, then the run does not count. Same thing if a runner is thrown out at second or third base (on a force-play only).


What if a baseball is over thrown in dugout and there is a runner on base?

the all base runners will take one (1) base... if the ball goes it the stands the all runners take two (2) Bases...


Does the run count if the runner from third crosses the plate and the batter is thrown out going for a double?

Yes


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.


If the batter hits a single to left field and a runner is thrown out at the plate is the batter credited with a hit or fielder's choice?

This would be a hit. The only scenerio that this would be a fielder's choice is if the bases were loaded during the hit and the runner that was thrown out was on third base during the hit. A fielder's choice is scored only if the batter would have been out had the fielder chosen to go after him instead of a runner already on base. If the batter would have reached first anyway (such as in the scenario described here), he would get a hit.


Two outs runner on first and third batter has full count Both runners take off on the pitch The pitch is a ball Can the first base runner be thrown out at 2nd and what happens to the 3rd base run?

if the run scores from third before the runner at 2nd is declared out the run stands if not then no run....i.e. in anything highschool level and under to little league a startegy its to get into a rundown in between 1st and 2nd allowing the runner from third to score


If you hit a ball to second base with runners on first and second base and both runners advance to the next base and the hitter gets thrown out is this a sacrifice?

No. A sacrifice is when the batter turns around to bunt and lets everyone on the defense know what they are going to do. The batter is 'sacrificing' (allowing the defense to get him/her out) so the runners can advance one base.


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.