Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe.
- Hit by Pitch
- Dropped 3rd strike
- Catcher interference
- Fielders Choice
They can reach 1st base via walk, error, hit by pitch or fielder's choice.
In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free). Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base. You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.
base on balls, or hit by pitch.
The batter can reach on an fielding error, take a walk (four balls), get hit by a pitch, or strike out on a wild pitch and beat the ball to 1st base.
A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.
These are the ones that I can think of: Walk (intentional or unintentional; they're not technically considered to be two different ways) Hit by pitch Reach first after dropped third strike Catcher's interference Error Fielder's choice Some people say "pinch runner"; usually the question is phrased "ways the batter can reach first base without getting a hit", so that wouldn't count in that instance. Others say fair ball hits an umpire or runner before passing a fielder other than the pitcher; that wouldn't work, because the batter is credited with a single. I also don't know if fielder interference (obstruction) would count as a hit or not; for instance, if the batter hits a play short of first, the first baseman comes up the line to play the ball, the pitcher fields it and throws to the second baseman who covers first, but the first baseman interferes with the batter-runner. If the batter is not credited with a hit, then that would be the seventh way.
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).
When a batter receives four pitches that the umpire calls balls, and is then entitled to reach first base without the possibility of being called out.
There are 6 ways a batter can reach first base. Base on Balls - a batter is pitched 4 balls Hit By Pitch Hit a single An error in the field Fielders choice (the fielder got another runner out instead of the batter) If the third strike gets past the catcher the batter can run to first if he can beat the catchers throw.
Ty Cobb, Detroit Tigers
A single is a hit that allows the batter to reach first base safely.