Most if not all players have gotten to first base without hitting the ball. Most if not all receive a 'walk' (pitcher throws four pitches that are called balls by the umpire) and some have been hit by the ball thrown by the pitcher. In either case, the batter gets to take first base without ever hitting the ball.
Fielder knocks the ball in fair territory
droped third strick a walk or hit by pitch
if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)
Yes they can.
In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free). Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base. You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.
After a walk, no. After hitting the ball, no, unless when he "touches" someone he is interfering with a play on a batted ball, in which case he could be called out for interference.
An out can be a result of a strikeout, a batter hitting the ball and it is caught, or if they are thrown out at first base.
Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.
In Major League Baseball, there is no rule prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate after he hits the ball. Often, a right handed batter will step on home plate on his way to 1st base after hitting the ball, especially when he bunts.
Depending on what it means to "get on base" (in the game of baseball) without hitting the ball, I suggest the following ways: 1. As a batter, get a "base on balls." 2. As a batter, be hit by a pitch. 3. As a batter, strike out, the catcher drops the third strike (or misses it completely), the batter runs to first base before the catcher (or other fielder) can retrieve the ball "throw him out" at first base. 4. As a batter, during a swung-on pitch the bat comes in contact with any part of the catcher or his/her equipment. This is most commonly the catcher's mitt. 5. Be substituted as a runner for another player who has already "gotten on base."
There are 2 ways a baseball player can get o first base without hitting the ball. 1. They get four balls (where the ball isn't thrown over home base 4 times.) 2. If the pitcher throws the ball and it hits you.
There are many characteristics in baseball. The main characteristics are pitching the ball to the batter and then the batter running after hitting the ball.
A Baseball player hitting foul after foul is done more so to stay alive (not strike out) then to work the pitcher ... You have to keep in mind that the batter him self is using up energy to hit the ball foul ... The batter would rather get a hit then repetitively hitting the ball foul ...
According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.
1. If you catch the ball hit by the batter, the batter is out 2. You miss a ball 3 times while hitting
That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.
No way. I was playing catcher last spring when a batter threw his bat back into me after hitting the ball. I appealed to the ump and he called the guy out, even though he got a hit. Safety first.
Not sure about all six, but the batter can be out if (s)he bunts foul on strike two (this is actually a strikeout), steps on the plate while bunting the ball, steps on the plate while hitting the ball, hits the ball when it is determined that the batter is out of the batter's box, touches the ball in fair territory with the body while out of the batters box, is hit by a throw to first from behind if not running in the outlined base running area between home and first, is hit by a pitch that is in the strike zone if (s)he intentionally positions a part of the body in a way that results in the ball hitting him/her.
'Pulling the ball' is a term used with hitting and is when a right handed batter hits a ball to the left side of the field or a left handed batter hits a ball to the right side of the field.
When Alexander Cartwright devised the rules of the game that were eventually accepted, the batter always ran to first base after hitting the ball.
No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.
Simply the batter will get thrown out if the batter does not take a base ...NOTE : On a two (2) out situation NO run(s) count as a run till the batter takes a base ...
Yes, a Pitcher pitching a baseball in a Major League Baseball game and if the pitched ball ends up hitting any part of the batter who is at the plate regardless of whether it's his uniform, his shoes, his battling gloves or even his helmet it would be ruled as the ball hitting him and therefore it would be credited as a Hit by Pitch and the umpire would award you first base automatically.