answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a baserunner goes back and touches/or stands (this is called 'tagging up') on the base the they started on after the ball is caught he can then advance to the next base(s). If you do not go back and 'tag' the base after the ball is caught, the defensive team can throw the ball to the base you started on and you will be out

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-05 21:56:53
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How can a base runner advance on a caught fly ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Runner on base advance after a fly ball catch in foul territory?

yes, but runner must not advance to next base until ball is caught by defensive player.


One out and runner on second base and ball is hit to deep fly ball to right field and caught How many bases can a player on second base advance after the ball is caught?

As long as he has tagged up he can advance the whole way to home.


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


Can a runner on 3rd base score before a fly ball is caught when there are 2 outs?

No. A runner can only advance on a fly ball after it is caught. Since there are two outs and the catch of the fly ball would make the third out. A runner cannot score before a fly ball is caught at any time.


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


If a runner is on first and forced to run to second do they need to tag-up on a fly?

A baserunner on 1st is not forced unless the batter hits a ground ball, a base hit on a fielding error (he is also forced to advance on a walk, hit batter, catcher interference, etc.). The runner is not forced on a fly ball unless it is dropped or falls in for a hit. If a fly ball is caught, the runner is not forced, but may choose to "tag up" and try to advance to 2nd after the catch. If a fly ball is dropped, the runner need not tag up before advancing to 2nd. THEY CAN RISK IT...BUT IF THE BALL IS CAUGHT HE HAS TO GET BACK TO FIRST BASE.....OR IT WILL BE A DOUBLE PLAY....BUT THEY DONT HAVE TO TAG UP Just to clarify. If a fly ball is caught, the runner on 1st may try to advance, but to do so, he must be on 1st base, or return and touch 1st base, before attempting to advance. The "tag up" must take place after the ball is caught by the fielder.


When can you tag up in baseball?

Tagging up allows a base runner to advance to the next base once a fly ball is caught. To tag up means returning to the base that you occupied at the time the fly ball was hit. You place a foot on the base and watch the ball as it is caught by the fielder. When the ball is caught, you run to the next base.


Where does the ball need to be hit in order for a runner to have tag-up in basebal?

Any time a ball is caught by a fielder prior to the ball hitting the ground, with that catch not being the third out, any base runner can IN THEORY advance to the next base after the catch is made. However, if the fielder throws the ball to the base the runner is trying to get to, and the runner is tagged before reaching that base, that runner is also out. Thus, in a practical sense, the ball needs to be hit sufficiently far that the fielder, after catching the ball, could not throw the ball to the base, the runner would try to advance to, before the runner actually got to that base. That distance depends on how well the fielder can throw the ball and how fast the runner can get to the next base.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


When can a runner on base advance on a foul ball?

No.


How can a base runner advance on a caught fly ball with less than 2 outs?

keep running and if he drops the ball then you can keep going and eventually score


When must a base runner tag up to advance to the next base?

When the batter hits a fly ball and there are less than 2 out the runners have to stay where they are until either the ball is caught or until they know for a fact that the ball won't be caught. If the ball is caught, they have to tag up, otherwise they can just keep on running.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


Can you steal a bases in little league baseball?

Yes you can. Officially the ball has to reach the batter before the runner can leave the base. Some local leagues adopt the rule that the ball must be caught before the runner can advance.


What is a kick ball force out?

When the ball is kicked and the runner has to advance to the next base


If the catcher catches a foul tip on a first or a second strike can the runner still advance or does he have to go back to his base if he is stealing?

He can advance, it's a live ball if caught sharply and directly.


Does a sacrifice fly have to caught in fair territory?

yes a sacrifice fly must be caught in fair territory. if it is not in fair territory when caught runners can not advance. and the base runner must also tag up after the ball is caught


How is a sacrifice fly different from a sacrifice bunt?

A sacrifice fly is a fly ball that is caught for an Out, but that allows a runner to tag up and score. A sacrifice bunt is a ball that is "tapped" with the intent of sacrificing an Out (the batter) to advance the runner or runners on base.


Is a caught ball a hit even if the runner gets on base?

If a batted ball is caught in the air, the batter is out and would not be on base. It would not be a "hit."


If you catch a fly ball but the runer is on base is he out?

If you are saying the batter makes it to the base before the ball is actually caught, it doesn't matter, the batter is still out. Any runner who was on base when the ball was hit must be on the base they started at and then when the ball is caught, may advance at their own risk. If they do not 'tag up' on their original base they may be put out by throwing to that base and the fielder with the ball touching it before they return.


Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?

Yes. In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.


Baseball runner on first base fly ball is caught in field of play by first baseman but first baseman then falls out of field of play how many bases does runner on first advance one or two bases?

There is no free base or "advancing" by rule based on this play. Runner tries to advance at his or her own discretion if they take up.


Can a boy when he steals 2nd base and the throw to 2nd goess into outfield can the runner advance to 3rd or is this a one base at a time deal?

When the ball is in play, a base runner can always ATTEMPT to advance to the next base. He is allowed to advance to next base if the ball was badly thrown during an attempted steal of an earlier base. Note that, if the outfielder throws the ball to third base and the third baseman tags the runner before he gets to third base, the runner is out -- just like any other attempt to "steal" a base.


If a batted ball hits a base runner is the play dead?

If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).


Does the runner have to wait until the ball has been hit to advance to next base?

No, he can advance by stealing the base, or advance on a wild pitch, passed ball, catcher interference or a pitcher's balk.