answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, this isn't possible. If the first batter gets a hit, the game can't be a no-hitter.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-08-14 05:25:36
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Has any pitcher pitched a no hitter in which the only hit was by the first batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What pitcher on the Rockies team pitched the first Rockies no-hitter?

Ubaldo Jimenez


When will a walk occur in baseball?

When the hitter is either hit by the pitched ball, or if the pitcher throws four balls in a row, then the batter may proceed to go to first base because he has been walked.


Can a pitcher be relieved after a pitch but before the batter is either out or places the ball in play?

Yes. Either the pitcher or the batter may be substituted for at any point in the at-bat. Only if it is not the first hitter that pitcher is facing, if it is the first batter he faces, he must pitch the entire at-bat unless injured, then he may be removed from the game


Can a pitching change occur during an at bat?

As long as the pitcher has pitched to at least one batter previously, a change can be made during an at bat. If the batter is the first batter the pitcher has pitched to, (s)he may not be taken out unless having suffered an injury that the umpires deem is serious enough to warrant being taken out of the game.


Who pitched a no hitter for the Boston Red Sox in 1962 and hit a home run?

Earl Wilson No hit the Los Angeles Angels on Jun 26th (my b'day) and hit a 400 foot homer ( the first no hitter pitched in the AL by a black pitcher)


Who was the first Colorado pitcher to throw a no hitter?

Through the 2008 season, no Rockies pitcher has thrown a no-hitter.


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Can you switch pitchers in the middle of the count?

Yes. However, rules state a pitcher must pitch one complete at bat before being taken out of the game (unless the pitcher gets injured and cannot continue). So, as long as the batter being pitched to is not the first batter the pitcher is facing, the pitcher may be removed in the middle of the count.


In base ballcan you bring in a relief pitcher in the middle of a count?

Yes, you can. The only exception is for the first batter of the game and for the first batter to be faced by a reliever. According to Rule 3.05(a), the starting pitcher shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. And according to Rule 3.05(b), if the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief's judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.


Has john Maine pitched a perfect game?

He had impressive scoreless streak of 26 innings during his first season with the New York Mets in 2006. But no Mets pitcher has ever pitched a no hitter, much less a perfect game.


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


What happens when a batter has thrown four balls?

If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.

People also asked