answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, pitchers and hitters can be substituted at any time.

Hitters can be substituted at any time, but unless he is injured, a pitcher must pitch to at least one batter before he can be taken out. A pitcher can be removed in the middle of an at-bat, however, if he had pitched to at least one hitter previously.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-05 14:39:11
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can an uninjured pitcher be substituted in the middle of a count?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does anything happen to batters pitch count if you remove pitcher in middle of pitch count?

Yes, the count reverts back to zero if the count is in the favor of the pitcher unless the pitcher leaves injured or is traded!


Who gets the strikeout the old pitcher or the new pitcher when the relief pitcher enters during the middle of the count?

The new pitcher...he is the one who actually has to stike them out, he could still walk them even if the old pitcher had 0-2 count.


Can you switch pitchers in the middle of the count?

Yes. However, rules state a pitcher must pitch one complete at bat before being taken out of the game (unless the pitcher gets injured and cannot continue). So, as long as the batter being pitched to is not the first batter the pitcher is facing, the pitcher may be removed in the middle of the count.


If a pitch is hit does it count as a strike or a ball against a pitcher's pitch count?

The pitch goes towards the pitcher's strike count.


Is it considered a trip to the mound to talk to fielders while pitcher is warming up?

Yes, all trips to the mound will be considered a "trip to the mound" no matter if the coach or manager is just talking strategy with the Pitcher or just with the Fielder or Fielders. The only way a trip to the mound does not count against a team is if they're doing an injury check on the Pitcher who is currently pitching in the game however if a pitcher was just substituted into the game and is warming up then the coach or Manager would still be out there and therefore it wouldn't count as a "trip to the mound."


Does a batter get a new count if there is a pitching change?

No, the new pitcher inherits the existing count.


In major league baseball if a batter has a 1-1 count and the pitcher is removed which pitcher is responsible for the batter if he gets on base?

The pitcher who pitched the 1-1 count is responsible for the batter if he gets on base.


Are there rules about when a relief pitcher can enter the game At any time and or can they change when there is a full count?

A relief pitcher can enter the game at any time or any count on the batter


What is a pitchers count?

A pitchers count is when the pitcher is leading the count and not the batter he is facing. (ex. If the count is 1-2 it would be a pitchers count because there are more strikes then balls.)


Can a pitcher enter with the same ball count During an at bat?

yes


With change of pitcher can batter be changed?

Yes. The batter can be changed. The balls and strikes are on the pitcher. If there is a new pitcher, the count goes to zero balls and zero strikes.


If a pitcher is pulled with a 2-1 count and the batter is then walked by the next pitcher who is the BB credited?

The pitcher giving up the last to balls gets "credited" with the walk.

People also asked