Probably a bunch. A fly out to the centerfielder is an unassisted putout. So is a ground ball to the first baseman. It doesn't happen every inning, but it certainly is not RARE for one player to make all 3 outs unassisted. I suspect it has happened thousands of times. ----
Also, if a pitcher strikes out the side the catcher is credited with three putouts as long as he catches all three strike threes or doesn't have to throw to first base to get a batter who is running due to the uncaught third strike rule. ---- Yes, but the PITCHER gets an assist on a strikeout. So, even though the catcher gets credit for all three putouts when the pitcher strikes out the side, the outs are not "unassisted", which was a criteria on the question. Also, your exception about the catcher dropping strike 3 only applies if the batter swung at the ball. Also, first base has to be empty, unless there are already two outs. Furthermore, ironically, if all three outs were swinging strike-outs, and the catcher dropped the ball on all three third strikes, if he then successfully tagged all three batters before they got to first base (rather than just throwing the ball to first), then he would have accomplished the feat - 3 unassisted putouts in one inning. However, I expect that this method is very unlikely, and has probably never happened in MLB. As a side note, I saw a game once (a college game) in which one player very nearly GOT put out 3 times in an inning. That, if it had occurred, would have probably been unique in all of Baseball. First of all, you have to come up to the plate 3 times in the same inning. That is very rare, as it requires everyone else to come up to the plate at least twice, which means a total of at least 19 batters in the inning, and also at least 13 runs scored. Second, you have to be hitting so badly that you can't get on base, when EVERYONE ELSE ON YOUR TEAM CAN, TWICE. The player in question (Warren Morris, LSU) was the first batter of the inning, and grounded out. The next 8 batters reached base safely, and Morris came up again, and struck out. Again, all 8 other batters reached base safely and Morris came up again. He got a hit this time. He didn't get another chance to accomplish this "feat". LSU scored 18 runs in that inning. Ironically, Morris was probably the best hitter on that team. He got a hit in every game he played in that season (though he missed the majority of it due to a wrist injury). He was, in fact, the hero of the most dramatic finish ever in any baseball championship game, hitting a homer with 2 outs in the bottom of the ninth of the final game of the college World Series. -----
Oops, you are absolutely correct. However, the assist is not recorded as an assist in the boxscore. The rules were changed in 1889 to not credit the pitcher with an assist on a strikeout. Also, the uncaught third strike rule is in effect whether the batter swings at strike three or not as long as there are less than two outs and first base is not occupied (Rule 6.05(b) and Rule 6.09(b)). Regardless, I need to start reading these questions a little more carefully. ---- Grady Sizemore did it tonight (June 12/08) in the top of the ninth, hes a centerfielder.
yes. Boston Red Sox player Mike Lowell was the first out and then hit into a DP in the same inning 23/9/09 vs KC. The real question is whether anyone ever himself made 3 outs in one inning which would require that there had been 19 batters in one inning and a minimum of 13 runs in that inning (the most runs in an inning = 17/18 in the two leagues).
I just saw a dribbler in front of the plate caught by the catcher who tagged the batter who hoped the ball would go foul. That was an unassisted putout. I wonder how often it happens but it doesn't seem rare.
There have been a few unassisted triple plays in baseball history.
Also, 3 strikeouts could qualify under your criteria.
I'm sure there have been other 1-2-3 unassisted innings in baseball.
How about three fly balls, three pop ups, three ground balls to first. Happens all the time in MLB games.
Yes, it's known as an unassisted triple play. It's extremely rare, usually occurs when there are at least two runners on consecutive bases (1st & 2nd, for example) and the defensive player (in this case the second baseman or short-stop) catches a line drive or fly ball (1 out) steps on the base (2 out) and tags a runner (3 outs). I think the last time it happened was in 2009.
There have been 15.
There are 6 outs in one inning. Each team have to bat until they get 3 outs. Both teams bat once in one inning.6 per inning three outs per sideIn Australia There Are Six Outs In A Inning For Baseball3 outsThere are 6 outs in an inning, 3 for each team.
In one inning there is six outs, but in one half inning there is three.
not outs. 3 outs in a half inning.
There is 3 outs in the bottom of each inning and 3 outs in the top of each inning so there are 6 total outs in each inning.
Six, Three in the top of the inning and three at the bottom
3 It's Not Three. It's Six, Theres Three Outs In Half An Inning.
No, that is not possible. That thought comes from the fact that, in certain situations, a batter can strikeout but get on base if the catcher does not catch the ball on strike three and cannot get the ball to the first baseman before the batter reaches first base. This is called the 'Dropped Third Strike Rule' and there is a link to its description on this page. There have been many occasions, I don't know the exact number, where a pitcher has struckout four batters in an inning. This can only occur when the catcher does not catch strike three on a strikeout and the batter reaches first base safely.
When the third out of an inning is made before the batter has completed a turn at bat, then that player shall be the first batter in the next inning and the ball and strike count shall be cancelled.
Six, three for the top and three for the bottom
It doesn't. Three strikes is an out, and there are three outs in an inning per team.
No, not a batter. Pitchers have struck out the side, and there have been unassisted triple plays though
That makes no sense. If a batter strikes out then there done for the inning. Even If they batted around, which is unlikey you could still answer that. Either 1 to 3 times an inning errr huh? Anyway to re the question 2 seems to be the record by numerous players. However there is a report of one batter making all 3 outs in one inning (not just strikeouts) http://article.feeds4all.nl/Ottawa-Batter-Makes-3-Outs/1718995531.aspx