Yes, this has happened enough to have a specific rule about it. If the bat strikes the catcher or his equipment (almost always his glove) while the batter is swinging, the umpire calls catcher interference and the batter takes first base.
get walked, get hit, hit the ball, catcher drop third stirke, catcher interferes with swing, and fieldrs choice
When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.
The batter gets to take his base because the catcher has caused interference.
No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.
He can either get thrown 4 balls or if he swings and misses the 3rd strike and the catcher drops it, he can run to the base. Other ways: Error by a fielder allows the batter to reach first. Fielder's choice, less than two outs. Fielder obstruction after batted ball. None of the above are counted as hits, but the batter still ends up on base. Batter hit by pitched ball. Catcher interferes with batter's swing (I've not only never seen this, I've not aware that it has ever been called in the last 75 years or so).
Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe. - Error - Hit by Pitch - Walk - Dropped 3rd strike - Catcher interference - Fielders Choice
Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.
A pitcher throws a baseball to the catcher while the batter trys to hit it.
No. Nor is it a "time at bat", just like a base on balls, a sacrifice hit, or a sacrifice fly.
I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike. Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game. On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.
Hit, walk, hit by pitch, fielding error, catcher interferrence. 1. Walk 2. Hit 3. Hit by pitch 4. Strike out and catcher misses the ball allowing batter to reach 1st base. 5. Reached on Error 6. Fielder's choice 7. Interference by catcher or other fielder
no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.