answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2005-05-05 05:03:40
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

6 ways to get on first without getting a hit?

1. The pitcher throws four balls and you get a walk. 2. The pitcher hits the batter with a pitch. 3. The manager decides to walk the batter without pitching. 4. On strike three the catcher drops the ball and no one is on first and the batter beats the throw to first. 5. An error by the fielders in which the hit does not count. 6. Fielder's Choice


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


If the ball is caught and then dropped - while the player is tumbling on the ground - is the batsman out?

Usually the batter is not out, but if the fielder drops the ball in the act of throwing it to an infielder the batter is out. So your question's answer is no he is not out.


What happens if the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the runner?

If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.


How can a pitcher make 4 strikeouts in one inning?

if on one of the strike outs the catcher drops the ball and the batter reaches first base safely the out does not count


What happens if a batter drops the bat in rounders?

I'm not sure if you mean "baseball" when you say "rounders," but if you are, nothing happens if the batter drops the bat in baseball.


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


Why did the play Advance after a pitcher drops the ball?

If you mean a player on base? When a pitcher drops the ball it is a balk and base runners advance one base.


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


If a batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter makes his way safely to first base how is that play entered onto a scorecard?

e 2


Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball


Is double hit of the bat on a bunt an out?

It depends. A) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is bunted straight up into the air and the batter hits the ball again - batter is out. B) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is hit into the infield near home plate, the batter deliberately drops or throws the bat so it hits the ball a second time - batter is out. C) batter attempts to bunt the ball, then drops the bat on the way to first base, the ball incidentally rolls against the bat, ball is live and playable.


Why can a hitter run to 1st base if the catcher drops the ball?

The batter can advance because the ball is still live, same as every runner on any base. The catcher must catch the ball directly from the pitcher to complete a strikeout.


Does batter get RBI if runner scores from third on 3 strikes catcher drops ball?

Yes


The drops of water that form on surfaces near the ground?

drops of water form on surfaces near the ground Dew/condensate ; see relevant link .


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


What is a sinker in baseball?

a sinker is a pitch thrown that drops out of the strike zone just as the batter tries to hit it


Where does rain go when it drops?

Rain falls on the ground.


What do you call morning water drops on the ground?

Dew


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops third ball and the batter is safe at first?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


The number of strikeouts in an inning of baseball?

There can be an infinite number of strikeouts in one inning. Usually and most of the time there are three but there are times it can be 4 or more. If the catcher drops a third strike and the batter reaches first base safely, that is still recorded as a strikeout for the pitcher.


In baseball is a batter out if the catcher drops a third strike and the batter does not realize it was a dropped ball until he is almost to the dugout and then runs safely to first?

Once the player has headed for the dugout he can be considered out. However, if the umpire has not called the batter out yet, then he is still in play.


What is the correct definition for recovery heart rate?

Number of beats per minute the heart drops after exercise.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.