answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

You are not guilty of an offside infraction if you receive the ball directly from a throw-in by a team-mate, the defender deflection would still count as "the throw-in" unless they controlled the ball first. Even if they did control the ball, you are not guilty of an offside infraction if an opposing player passed it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-26 19:48:07
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

An arrow is shot straight up at an initial velocity of 250 ms How long will it take to hit the ground

Convert this number to scientific notation 278000

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.82
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
11 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: During a throw in in a football game an attacking player who was past to a defender gets the ball after the ball has been thrown and touched by the defender's head Is this offside?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is a sweaper?

a sweeper is the last defender, he plays int he center of the football pitch and primary roles are to control the other defenders, keep the offside line and stop anyone striker that gets through the other defenders.


How has the offside rule changed?

The original offside rule was that if any attacking player is ahead of the last defender when the ball is played then the attacking player must be given offside. The player must be given offside even if he doesn't receive the pass. The new rule is that the player can only be given offside if he is interfering with play i.e. he receives the ball, he obstructs defending players, blcoks the goalkeepers view, etc.


What olympic sport has an off-side rule?

English football uses the offside rule where at least on defender has to be between the attacker and the goal.


Is a striker offside if it deflects off the defender?

The attacker's offside status is not reset by a mere deflection off a defender. A team mate of the attacker need only touch it. A defender must control it.


In soccer can an attacker dribble the ball past the last two defenders and shoot on goal?

yes the attacker can. but if the attacker is waiting behind the defenders, and receives the ball when she is behind the defender , it will be called an offside, and the other team will simply get a penalty. But if you already have the ball, you can just dribble it past the defenders and score.


What are the rules of soccer defense?

There are no rules regarding how much you can defend as long as you do not commit a foul. If a player from the attacking team goes beyond the defenders and the ball is passed to them after they are past where the defenders are standing, it is an offside. This rule was made to prevent goal hanging.


Does the offside rule give the benefit of the doubt to the attacker or defender?

should be the attacker but usually the defender


Can a defender in soccer get called for offside?

If the defender is on the opponent's half of the field and is closer to the opponent's goal line than both the 2nd last opponent and the ball, then they are in an offside position and can be called for offside.


When is the ball offside in English football?

The ball cannot be offside. Players can be in an offside position.


What is a player offside?

When a football player passes the ball to one of their team-mates and the receiving team-mate is in front of the last defender on the opposing side.


What are the rules of offside in soccer?

If a player of a team is on the other side of the field behind all the players (or behind the defenders) but still in front of the goalie, then this person is in an offside position. This, however, is NOT offside. It is not against the law of soccer to be in an offside position. Now say that person is in an offside position and his/her teammate passed the ball to him/her and that person plays or touches the ball, that is considered offside. That is illegal in the law of soccer. Say the other teammate passed the ball to his/her teammate in an offside position but the person doesn't make a move to go for the ball, then that isn't considered offsides, and therefor is not considered illegal in the law of soccer. A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of their team, they are , in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by: > interfering with play > interfering with an opponent > gaining an advantage by being in that position In doing this the attacking player will between the last defender and the defending goalkeeper when the ball is played to them . If the attacking player is in line with a defending player (not the goalkeeper) then no offside offence has been committed


What are the offside rules of Soccer?

If a player of a team is on the other side of the field behind all the players (or behind the defenders) but still in front of the goalie, then this person is in an offside position. This, however, is NOT offside. It is not against the law of soccer to be in an offside position. Now say that person is in an offside position and his/her teammate passed the ball to him/her and that person plays or touches the ball, that is considered offside. That is illegal in the law of soccer. Say the other teammate passed the ball to his/her teammate in an offside position but the person doesn't make a move to go for the ball, then that isn't considered offsides, and therefor is not considered illegal in the law of soccer. A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of their team, they are , in the opinion of the referee, involved in active play by: > interfering with play > interfering with an opponent > gaining an advantage by being in that position In doing this the attacking player will between the last defender and the defending goalkeeper when the ball is played to them . If the attacking player is in line with a defending player (not the goalkeeper) then no offside offence has been committed

People also asked