answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. If it touches the top of the backboard, it is ruled as out of bounds, therefore, a turnover

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-07-25 19:18:45
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the point count if the ball touches the top of the backboard?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is it considered out of bound by defender if defender blocks a shot and the ball touches rim or backboard and goes out of bound?

Yes. The shooting team would get the ball.


Is it out if basketball goes over the top and behind the backboard but otherwise stays in bounds?

If the basketball touches the side of, or goes over, the backboard, then the ball is called out of bounds and the play is called dead.


When a player does a slam dunk and breaks the glass backboard does the point still count?

If the ball goes all the way thru the hoop before the glass breaks then yes it counts.


In basketball if the time runs out while the ball is in the air and the ball goes in but it hits the backboard does it still count?

If no one touched it when the buzzer hit, yes


Does a foul shot count if the ball hits the backboard first before touching the rim or going into the basket?

Yes


If a shot ball sails over the top of the backboard and goes in -does it count?

it should not it is considered out but most refs don't know that


If the ball passes through the bottom of the basket hits the backboard then goes back through the basket does it count as a score?

bye


If you shoot the ball and it is deflected after it hits the backboard but is still on its way up is this goaltending?

As far as NBA rules go, yes. If a ball is touched after it has touched any part of the backboard above ring level, it is considered goaltending regardless of whether the ball is on its upward or downward flight. If the ball touches the backboard below ring level and is touched on its upward flight, it is considered goaltending; downward flight, no goaltending. Of course, the official also has to rule that the ball would have had a chance of going through the ring for goaltending to be called.


If a basketball is shot and hits the top of the backboard is it out of bounds?

Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play. If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.


Can the ball bounce when you are playing volleyball?

No. If the ball touches the court, the point is automatically over.


If you kick off and no one else touches the ball and it goes into the goal does it count?

YES


Why is the basketball backboard their?

The basketball backboard is there to show ppl where to shot the ball to get it in.


Is it out of bound if the ball hits the side of the backboard in basketball?

No, it is not considered out of bounds if the ball hits the side of the backboard. Unless it bounces off the side of the backboard and then out of bounds before you or someone else can catch it.


If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard is it out of bounds?

If the ball goes off the rim and over the backboard then it is out of bounds. If it goes off the rim and hits the top of the backboard but falls back in play on the front side of the backboard, then it isn't out of bounds.


Is it a legal shot when the ball hits the side of the backboard?

Yes, it is. As long as the ball does not hit the back of the backboard or the shot clock, the shot is valid.


When the ball bounces off the backboard or rim?

dead ball


If the ball touches the top of the backboard is it still in play or does it go to the other team?

The Ball is still in play. Back surface is the only out-of-bounds part of the backboard. (Supporting elements, such as pipes or poles or arms, etc. are obviously not part of the backboard or rim and are out of bounds.)The ball traveling OVER the top of the backboard is OUT of bounds. I believe this rule was put in place because Wilt Chamberlain would score from the other side of the board.Some sources say that if the backboard is 'fan shaped' or arched top, then the over-top rule does not apply, but does if the backboard is rectangle.It's amazing to me how many times this happens at the gym and players call it out of bounds. Cmon! You gotta know the rules if you want to play the game. No one ever knows this rule, but here it is:Rule 4, Section I - c. All five sides of the backboard (top, bottom, both sides and front face) are in play. As long as the shot stays on the top of the backboard, it is still in bounds. When it falls through the basket, the goal counts. But once the ball crosses over the backboard - regardless of where it comes to rest - it is out of bounds.


Is it legal to shoot the ball over the backboard in a college basketball game?

Sure you can shoot the ball over the backboard but it will be out of bounds and the other team will get posession.


What is a volley in volleyball?

It is where you don' let the ball hit the ground but in volley-ball you lose the point if it touches the ground anyway!!!


What is volley in volleyball?

It is where you don' let the ball hit the ground but in volley-ball you lose the point if it touches the ground anyway!!!


Can you hit the backboard while the ball is on the rim?

Yes, that's how, sometimes, the ball gets stuck on the hoop. It gets wedged between the backboard and the side of the rim.


How do you make a b-ball backboard?

You can take a large piece of wood and cut in in a rectangle or in the shape of a backboard.


What happens if the volleyball touches the net on a serve?

The other team gets the ball and a point.


Is the ball out of bounds if it hits the bottom of the backboard?

no


What is the use of a Backboard?

The backboard is used to bank the ball off of. The box on the backboard (right above the basket) is used as a guide. If you hit certain spots from certain sides of the goal, the ball will always go in the basket if thrown with the right technique.