answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter remains in the batters box he is not required to move. In some instances it might be best not to move, as if you do move and then interfer with the catcher or the throw, you will be called for interference

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-05 16:42:30
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the batter have to move out of the way when third base is stolen?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Runner stealing third base batter stands in batters box catchers arm hit batter in head is runner out?

no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.


Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?

no as long as the batter i the batters box and not on home plate he can remain in the batters box even if the baserunner is stealing third the catcher would have to move to throw it.


Does a batter have to move when a runner is stealing third?

No, under the rules of general baseball the batter is never required to move from the batter's box on a steal attempt, even if the attempt is at home. Some leagues may require the batter to move for safety though


Batter gets hit by pitch but doesnt move?

If the Home Plate Umpire rules that the batter did not attempt to avoid being hit, batter does not get the pass to first base.


What would get you a walk in baseball?

If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.


Does a batter get first base when swinging and getting hit by a ball?

yes they get a walk on first base but on any other base but the person on first doesn't move.


If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


Does a batter have to move from the batters box when a runner on third steals home or can he just stand there and let the runner slide between his legs?

you would have to be really far up in the box... i think the batter has to move


If a batter bunts with a runner on second base would this be a sacrifice?

Yes. If the batter turns around and bunts with a runner or runners on base in an attempt to move them up a base while giving himself up as an out the play is considered a sacrifice.


On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base


Why is a fouled third strike bunt considered an automatic out in baseball and what happens if a runner is on second base?

I am not sure why its there. you can have a swinging bunt and it won't be consider an "out" the the batter is out and i don't think anything happens with second base runner. he can i believe try to move up if he wants.


What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.


If there was NO wild pitch and the batter receives a walk can he advance on to second base before the next pitch?

Not unless the next batter gets a walk as well. Runners can only move on base hits or walks.


What are all the possible ways that a base runner may move from first base to second base?

steal Hit batter double balk walk walk then run to second


Does the pitcher have to throw the ball to a base on a pickoff move?

He cannot throw to teammate that is not near a base, but he does not have to throw the ball to second or third, if a teammate is not there.


An action by a batter that advances the runner to another base resulting in the batter being put out?

The action is called a sacrifice. The batter may bunt the ball to move a runner to scoring position. The batter may hit a fly ball into the outfield so that the runner on third can tag up and cross the plate. The batter may hit a ball that goes to a certain part of the infield where the only play the fielder can make is to first.


How does newton's third law of motion apply to base jumping?

you push DOWN with your feet and you move UP.


Does th batter have to attempt to move from the batters box if a runner is stealing from second to third?

No the batter has to make no effort to move out of the batters box, because most of the time it would have been a swing and a miss, and the catcher will go around the batter too make the throw, and usually the batter will stay in the box as an obstacle to the catcher.


Can a walked batter round first base and move on to second while the pitcher is in the circle in little league softball?

Yes


What is the verbs of move?

move = base verb moves = third person singular moved = past moved = past participle moving = present participle


What happens on a bases loaded walk?

All runners on base move ahead one base. The runner on third scores when he touches home plate. The batter gets an RBI. The pitcher may be charged with an earned run depending on how the runners got on base.The pitcher gets upset with the umpire.


How does the thired baseman hold a runner at third base?

At third base : if the fielder is right handed he/she should stand with the right foot on the top left corner of the base, and the left foot and left hand outstretched toward the pitcher for a pick off move. When the pitch is thrown he/she should move off the base and into his position of fielding in case the ball is hit to him. As a left handed player it is harder to play third base. You would stand with your left foot on the top left corner of the base with your right arm and leg outstretched to the pitcher. It is harder for a lefty to play third base because you would have to tag facing the opposite direction.


If a runner is on third and the batter hits himself with the ball and the ball is dead can the runner go to next base?

No. You answered your own question. The ball is dead if it comes into contact with the batter. Play should immediatly halt. I can see in softball, if the fourth ball is pitched and it hits the player, and is counted as a ball, then both runners would move. Of course if the runners on base are forced runs. Aside from that. I cant see a scenario where the runner would move bases based on a dead ball.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter - slide1?

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.