answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No the batter has to make no effort to move out of the batters box, because most of the time it would have been a swing and a miss, and the catcher will go around the batter too make the throw, and usually the batter will stay in the box as an obstacle to the catcher.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-03-23 02:52:57
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does th batter have to attempt to move from the batters box if a runner is stealing from second to third?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Runner stealing third base batter stands in batters box catchers arm hit batter in head is runner out?

no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.


Does a batter have to move when a runner is stealing third?

No, under the rules of general baseball the batter is never required to move from the batter's box on a steal attempt, even if the attempt is at home. Some leagues may require the batter to move for safety though


Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?

no as long as the batter i the batters box and not on home plate he can remain in the batters box even if the baserunner is stealing third the catcher would have to move to throw it.


What is batters interference?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


Is it obstruction if the batter doesn't move when the runner is stealing home?

Absolutely.


What happens to the batter with 3 balls 2 strikes when a runner is caught stealing?

The runner is out and the batter gets a new at bat when the next inning starts.


Does the batter become a batter runner on ball fore?

The batter becomes a runner the moment he steps out of the batters box and is heading towards first base.


In the MLB if a batter has a full count with one runner on base and the runner is caught stealing to make the last out what happens to batter?

The batter who was at bat when the out was made bats first the next inning... the out was made by the base runner the batter is not penalize for his out ...( the base runner could have made the out at any base and the batter will bat again )


Batter interferes with catcher after striking out runner stealing and safe at second is runner out for batter's interference or returned to first base?

returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop


How could one team's pitcher face 32 batters but the other team have only 31 times at bat?

at the end of any inning, a batter would be in the box with a runner on base. then the runner gets thrown out, either stealing or in a pick of play. the batter never completed his AB but the pitcher did face him


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


Can a runner on first steal a base on a strike swing?

if a batter swings and misses and a runner is on base and the runner is stealing then he can steal a base. Not sure what you mean though on a strike swing.

People also asked

Does a batter have to move when a runner is stealing third?

View results

What is the penalty for a batter standing with one foot outside the batters box in little league?

View results

Runner stealing third base batter stands in batters box catchers arm hit batter in head is runner out?

View results

Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?

View results