answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, any type of interference is against the rule. It is similar to a pitcher unintentionally hitting a batter.

As it is true that the interference does not have to be intentional, there are occasions where there might be "interference" that is not called as such. i.e If a batter takes a pitch and a runner is stealing a base, if the catcher throws the ball and hits the batter or his bat, while the batter is still standing in the box, this is not called interference

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-21 15:20:41
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does batters interference have to be intentional?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a batters intentional interference on a batted ball breaks up a double play the runner closest to home regardless of where the double play would have been possible is out?

If there was one out. no run can score on a force out? If no outs, I believe the run scores.....


How can you record an out in a baseball game before the first pitch?

batters interference


What is interference with another's enjoyment of life or property called?

You may be referring to Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress, and Trespass to Chattels.


Is it interference if runner intenionally hits a deflected batted ball with elbow while running bases?

Regardless of if it was intentional or not the runner is out. If there was a descent chance if a play to be made and if the runner did not do what he did and the ball still would not have hit him that it could be considered interference or obstruction and the batter would also be out... Most calls like this are to the discretion of the umpire... It's hard to determine if an action was intentional simetimes


What is batters interference at home plate when catcher is throwing down to 3rd base?

Batter's Interference is if the batter in question steps in the way of the Catcher that'll prevent him from throwing to a base.


What is transmitter jamming?

Intentional interference with a broadcast. It could be another transmitter on the same frequency or a device that generates other electrical pulses that cause bad reception in the vicinity.


In a baseball game if a hitter hits a fair ball down the line and it hits the ball girl is that considered an interference?

Yes, it is interference. If, in the umpire's judgment, it was unintentional, the play continues as normal. If it was intentional, the ball is called dead and runners/batter gets two bases.


What are six ways to reach first base without getting a hit or walking?

Error Catchers Interference Fielders Choice Intentional Walk Hit by Pitch Dropped Third Strike


What is intentional grounding in college football?

Intentional grounding is if you don't throw or go to your intentional grounding.


What is batters interference?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


Does a handball have to be intentional?

In soccer, a handball does have to be intentional for it to be called.


Which is an example of an intentional injury?

Which is an example of an intentional injury

People also asked