answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, any type of interference is against the rule. It is similar to a pitcher unintentionally hitting a batter.

As it is true that the interference does not have to be intentional, there are occasions where there might be "interference" that is not called as such. i.e If a batter takes a pitch and a runner is stealing a base, if the catcher throws the ball and hits the batter or his bat, while the batter is still standing in the box, this is not called interference

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does batters interference have to be intentional?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a batters intentional interference on a batted ball breaks up a double play the runner closest to home regardless of where the double play would have been possible is out?

If there was one out. no run can score on a force out? If no outs, I believe the run scores.....


Interference with anothers enjoyment of life or property?

You may be referring to Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress, and Trespass to Chattels.


How can you record an out in a baseball game before the first pitch?

batters interference


What is transmitter jamming?

Intentional interference with a broadcast. It could be another transmitter on the same frequency or a device that generates other electrical pulses that cause bad reception in the vicinity.


In a baseball game if a hitter hits a fair ball down the line and it hits the ball girl is that considered an interference?

Yes, it is interference. If, in the umpire's judgment, it was unintentional, the play continues as normal. If it was intentional, the ball is called dead and runners/batter gets two bases.


What are six ways to reach first base without getting a hit or walking?

Error Catchers Interference Fielders Choice Intentional Walk Hit by Pitch Dropped Third Strike


If an infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him is the fielder guilty of interference and the runner awarded the next base?

One Answer:Yes, The base runner is guilty of interference if he is contacted by a batted ball other than an infield fly. Another Answer:In MLB, it depends on whether or not, in the umpire's judgment, the interference was intentional or not. Rule 7.08(b)Comment states, in part:...If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire's judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional...


Which is an example of an intentional injury?

Which is an example of an intentional injury


Was the coming of Americans to the Philippines accidental or intentional?

it is intentional..


Does a handball have to be intentional?

In soccer, a handball does have to be intentional for it to be called.


What is a antonym of the word intentional?

Accidental is an antonym for intentional.


What are the ways that you can get to first base in regulation baseball?

1. A Base Hit 2. An Error 3. A Walk (Intentional or not) 4. A HBP 5. Catchers Interference 6. Fielders Choice 7. Dropped Third Strike