No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.
yes, but he can be thrown out if the ball beats him to first after the dropped 3rd strike.
he can if he wants but if he fouls it, then he is out.
Yes, because the batter would have been moving towards first. It would not count against the pitcher's ERA, though, because it was not an earned run.
no it just has to be a strike
When does it matter? A dropped third strike only matters when first base is unoccupied OR there are two outs. If there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, then a dropped third strike doesn't matter and the batter is out. What can the batter Do? Once a batter either looks at strike three or swings and misses at strike three and the ball is either not caught or dropped by the catcher, the batter becomes a runner and can attempt to make it to first base before either being tagged by the catcher or thrown out at first base. What if the pitch bounces? 99.99% of the time it is not a legal catch and the catcher (even if he fields the bounced pitch cleanly) must tag out the runner or throw him out at first base. Rule 6.05 specifies that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher and goes on to state that this must occur before the ball hits the ground. 0.01% of the time (and no these are not official calculations) the bounced pitch that is fielded by the catcher would be considered a legal catch. This can happen if the hitter swings and fouls off the pitch into the catcher's glove after the pitch has bounced. It is considered a legal catch at that point and the batter is out. What if the runner at first is stealing? If there are less than two outs, it doesn't matter. Even on an attempted steal, first base is considered occupied and the batter is out. What happens when there are two outs? When there are two outs the same rule applies with the addition that first base can be occupied. In this situation a force play can be created on other bases in addition to either tagging out the batter or throwing him out at first. Example: Bases loaded, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike. A force play has now been created at all bases as all runners must try to advance. Catcher can simply step on home plate for the force at home and third out. He doesn't have to make the out on the batter. What if a runner crosses the plate before the batter is thrown out at first or tagged? The run does not count. Example: Runner on third, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike, while he is picking it up and throwing to first, the runner from third crosses home plate. As long as the catcher throws out the runner at first, the run doesn't count. The force play at first is the same as if a ground ball was hit to another infielder. The run doesn't count.
Yes it is. It is actually a very, very smart defensive play. By catching the ball, yes you gain the out, but the runner will most likely score. By letting the ball go, the player gave their pitcher another chance to strike the batter out or have the batter hit a ball in an easier to handle area.
yes. the umpire doesnt call the batter out though. i do believe it counts as a strike.
yes it is legal
Yes, it's legal in Major League Baseball provided the pitcher isn't in the middle of a pitch otherwise it's illegal.
1. error 2. hit-by-pitch 3. walk 4. catcher drops third strike 5. wild pitch that is swung on for the third strike 6. catcher's interference 7. Fielder's choice 8. Pinch runner 9. Ball gets lodge in umpire's equipment 10. Official Rule 7.05 (h), ball thrown from the pitchers plate as a pitch or to catch a baserunner goes into the stands or dugout. How about 7.05 (b) Each runner including the batter runner may, without liability to be put out, advance Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril. According to Eric Enders, a researcher with the Baseball Hall of Fame, there are 23 legal ways to get to first base: 1. walk 2. intentional walk [this is now scored separately from a walk 3. hit by pitch 4. dropped third strike 5. failure to deliver pitch within 20 seconds [yes, it might be scored as a ball, but it doesn't involve throwing the ball outside the strike zone and violates a different rule] 6. catcher interference 7. fielder interference 8. spectator interference ("the act of a spectator touching a live ball by reaching out of the stands or going on the playing field") 9. fan obstruction [truth be told, I have no idea how this differs from spectator interference] 10. fair ball hits umpire 11. fair ball hits runner 12. fielder obstructs runner 13. pinch-runner [does not apply to batter] 14. fielder's choice [which may not result in an out anywhere] 15. force out at another base 16. preceding runner put-out allows batter to reach first 17. sac bunt fails to advance runner [I would have thought this was just a fielder's choice] 18. sac fly dropped [I would have thought this was just an error] 19. runner called out on appeal 20. error 21. four illegal pitches [yes, scored as balls, but again, not necessarily involving 4 pitches outside the strike zone] 22. if a game is suspended with a runner on first and that player is traded prior to the makeup, another player can take his place [does not apply to batter, and I imagine this would apply if the original runner was not available for other reasons, such as illness, injury, etc.] 23. hit (Some of these may be scored similarly, but they are all apparently distinct ways to get to first.)
An illegal batter is a batter who bats out of his legal turn.
yes he can do it
Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.
In baseball which includes Major League Baseball, striking out looking means the batter has two strikes on his as the counter and he takes a third strike without swiging the bat therefore he struck out looking because he struck out while looking at the pitched ball.
No, it is not legal for anyone to strike a child under the age of 18. You can be charged with child abuse or cruelty to a child if you strike someone under 18 years old.
Yes. Taken from the official MLB rules (available in various locations on the internet): "If the pitch touches the ground and ... the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight."