answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no as long as the batter i the batters box and not on home plate he can remain in the batters box even if the baserunner is stealing third the catcher would have to move to throw it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-08-29 02:38:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter


Can a runner on first steal a base on a strike swing?

if a batter swings and misses and a runner is on base and the runner is stealing then he can steal a base. Not sure what you mean though on a strike swing.


If a runner is on second base and the batter takes ball four can the runner on second steal third base?

yes because as long as the ball was taken the movement is still able to be played. also depending on what league of baseball you play.


On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


Who covers second in a steal from 1st base?

Either the second basemen or the short stop in responsible for covering second when a runner is trying to steal.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


What does throwing out the runner mean?

Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.


Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


What are all the possible ways that a base runner may move from first base to second base?

steal Hit batter double balk walk walk then run to second


Can a runner on second base steal 3rd base on ball four?

Yes, unless there are runners on both 1st and 2nd bases. In that case, the runner from second is awarded third - it is not stolen.


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


What is the most steals a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

Ten - First batter reaches steals two bases tagged out at plate. Second batter does the same. Third batter steals two bases and fourth batter steals one. Ten is the answer but alternatively, first batter gets on and steals two bases (2). Next batter reaches first and steals second (3). Third batter reaches first and now with three runners on each base a triple steal could be executed with the 3rd base runner being tagged out (5). Repeat last sentence, (7). Then the fifth batter gets walked, and a triple steal is attempted. The runner from third gets caught in a rundown. The runner from second steals third (8). The runner from first steals second and third (10). Then one of the three runners now between third and home gets tagged out before the lead runner can score.


When can a runner steal a base?

A base runner can steal a base at any time while he is on base. The only reason they wouldn't give him the steal is if the ball was fouled or he was thrown out by the catcher.


If a batter grounds out to second base and a runner advances is the batter charged a time at bat?

Yes.


When can a runner steal second base?

when the pitcher makes his first move towards home.


What is a straight steal?

Generally, the term means that a base runner is trying to steala base without the help of the batter swinging or faking a bunt.


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.