answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-03-13 01:33:11
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does an umpire have to accept a half swing appeal from the defensive team?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Why cant a batter appeal a check swing?

yes to a 3rd base umpire or a 1st base umpire but right after the check swing


What does the term went around mean in baseball?

"Went around" means swung in baseball jargon. When a batter tries to check (stop) his swing, the umpire must determine whether he succeeded in stopping his swing, or whether he "went around" (that is, swung the bat far enough that it's considered a swing). The home plate umpire will often appeal this call to the first base umpire for a right handed hitter, or to the third base umpire for a left handed hitter.


Can you appeal a call by the home plate umpire?

Yes, there are three ways that an appeal can be called that I can think of off-hand. The most common appeal is when a batter makes an attempt at a pitch, but holds up at the last second, called a "Check Swing." Since the home plate umpire's priority is to see where the ball is pitched, he usually doesn't have a good view of the batter's check-swing. When he makes his call, either the catcher or the batter can make an appeal to the first or third base umpire. The umpire on the baseline can clearly see if the batter has swung past the plate or not. Another appeal is called if a ball appears that it could or could not have been a home run. In this case, the manager can appeal the call, forcing the umpires to get together and view the play on instant replay. The third newest appeal is when a close play is made and the manager does not agree that the umpire made the right call. He can appeal and the umpires will check the instant replay to see if the appeal is successful. This appeal is a one-time deal for each manager. If the appeal is successful, the call is reversed and the manager may still appeal again. If the appeal is not successful, the call stays and the manager loses his right to appeal again on a close play. He may still appeal on home run calls.


In rule 9.02 can the manager of the offensive team request the umpire to ask his partner for help on a half swing when the pitch is called a ball?

the catcher does that he apples to 3rd or 1st ...Answer to the question:First off, why would the offensive manager want to appeal a half swing on a ball? By doing this he is taking the risk that his batter will have a strike called on him!! However, you are looking for an answer to your question. YES, the manager can request the umpire to ask his partner or other umpire for help on an appeal if the original call was a ball (an appeal cannot be made on an original strike call). You were correct, this is all covered in Section 9.02(c) -- The rule is longer then what i have included but this it the part the relates to your question:9.02(c) "The manager or the catcher may request the plate umpire to ask his partner for help on a half swing when the plate umpire calls the pitch a ball, but not when the pitch is called a strike. The manager may not complain that the umpire made an improper call, but only that he did not ask his partner for help...."


How does a first or third base umpire call a strike?

usually they will only call a strike if the batter checks his swing. since the umpire behind the plate cant see how far his swing goes, he will ask the first or third base umpire depending if he is a right handed batter or a left handed batter.


How many ways can you strike out on a baseball field?

2 Swing and miss or call strike by the umpire.


What fitness requirements does a badminton umpire need?

Swing a racket well, lower body workout


What is the definition of appeal in the softball terminolo0gy?

In Softball, just like Baseball, the home-plate umpire is the highest umpire and makes most of the final decisions. A good example of an appeal would be: Pitcher pitches a ball out of the strike zone. The batter checks their swing and the home plate umpire calls a ball. The catcher thinks the batter may have went around with the bat, so the catcher then appeals the call by asking either the umpire on 1st or 3rd (depending on whether the batter is left- or right-handed) for their judgment, since they are able to see clearly whether the batter went around or not. Although the Home Plate Umpire made the call, the other umpire now has the ability to overrule his call if it, indeed, was a strike. If the call is not appealed, the other umpire is not allowed to overrule the call, even if it is wrong.


What will happen if you stop your baseball swing in the middle?

If you stop your baseball swing in the middle and the ball is not in the strike zone, an umpire will look at your wrists. If your wrists are "broken" it is a strike. That means the position of your wrists determine if you took a swing or not. If they are still in the same position as they normally are before you take a swing, you did not swing. If your wrists are in the position they would be in after you took a swing, you took a swing.


Is a check swing a strike in the rule book?

The rulebook says a strike is a pitch struck at by the batter and missed. It's up to the umpire's judgment as to whether or not the batter swung or not.


What is the third base umpire responsible for in baseball?

The 3rd base umpire is of course responsible for all plays at third base. Among his other duties is calling a hit ball fair or foul; being responsible for the call on a left handed batter as to if his "checked swing" is really a real swing; checking for a balk by the pitcher ( all umpires can call a balk ) and determining whether a hit to left field is a home run.


Has a ruling in baseball ever been overturned?

This depends on what you mean by "a ruling." Umpires have always been free to consult with each other on who had the best view of a play. If one umpire makes on judgement (say, the runner was tagged out) and another umpire makes another one (the fielder missed the tag), the head umpire can make a decision on who had the best view of the play; and can then over-rule an original call. Catchers can appeal to the umpire at first or second base on whether a batter "checked his swing." This will happen a few times every game. Presently, umpires can CHOOSE to use TV replays to determine if a ball was (or was not) a home run. In this case, umpires might decide to overturn an initial call. MLB Union rules state that an arbitator can overturn or reduce a suspension. This happens periodically.

People also asked