Want this question answered?
No it just results in a ball out of bounds to the team who did not commit the violation
No, not that I ever heard of. It maybe if you are talking to the free throw shooter.
Different 5 second violations (1) on a throw in, a player has 5 seconds to throw in the ball (2) closely guarded, when the player with possession of the ball in their front court is closely guarded by a defensive player in a legal defensive position, the player can hold or dribble the ball for 4 seconds.
The whistle is blown and the defending team gets to take the ball out.
- A foul is when the opposite teams accidently hits you, trips you, kicks you, etc but a violation is when say your shooting a free throw and you step over the free throw line when your shooting or someone else enters the key to early or your taking the ball out of bounds and they reach across the boundry line!!
No, it is not consider a traveling vioation. If the ref considers it a shot, the shooter can even catch their own "air ball" without it being a violation.
There are many violations of basketball. You can not move with the ball when you are not dribbling. That is called a travel. The only exception is when you take two steps for a layup. You can not dribble the ball, pick it up, and then dribble again. That is called a double dribble. If you are on offense, you can not stay in the key for longer then 3 seconds or else you will get a 3 seconds call. You have 5 seconds to throw the ball in when it is out of bounds. If you don't get the ball inbounds in time it will be a turnover. You have 10 seconds to get the ball down the court onto the opposite half to which the ball was thrown in. If you don't get it across halfcourt on time that will be a turnover. These are just a few of the many violations.
A lane violation is when a player tries to get a rebound before the ball gets to touch the rim during a free throw (high school rules). A key violation or "3 in the key" is when a player (offensive player or defensive player) is under the basket (known as the "paint") for more than 3 seconds.
In American college ball and the NBA, you may run the baseline after a made shot or free throw. If the throw in is due to something other than a made shot or free throw, you may not run the baseline when attempting to throw the ball in.
If there is still another foul shot to be taken then nothing happens its just a miss, but if its the last foul shot then the ball is taken out bye the opposing team.