answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The answer is no, BB, HBP, SH and SF does not count as an official AB

yes

new answer:

There is no such thing as a sacrifice ground ball and this would be an at-bat. The only exception is a bunt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-07-19 20:17:06
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a sacrifice ground ball count as an at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

In baseball does a sacrifice count as an at bat?

According to MLB rule 10.01.a.1 only a sacrifice bunt or fly out does not count as an at-bat. A ground out counts a an at-bat


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Does a sac fly count as an at bat?

No, a sacrifice fly does not count as an official at-bat, in order to have an at-bat scored as a sac fly though a runner must advance home safely on your fly ball


Does an infield error in baseball count as an at bat?

It counts as an at bat in all cases except the sacrifice. If a batter attempts a sacrifice bunt and one of the infielders makes an error when fielding or throwing the ball, the batter is credited with a sacrifice and no time at bat.


Is advancing a runner buy hitting a flyball or putting the ball in play considered a time at bat?

It is not considered an at bat if it is a fly ball to the outfield or a bunted sacrifice. If it is a ground out and runners advance it is a time at bat.


Does a sac bunt count as an at bat?

No, a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat.


If a batter hit a fly ball that was caught out but scored a RBI does it count as an at bat?

Sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies are not officially counted as "at bats".


Does an error on a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

no, if in the judgment of the official scorer a ball would have been a sacrifce fly without the error, the batter is not charged an at bat and gets credit for a sacrifice fly and an RBI


Is a sacrifice a time at bat?

Any type of sacrifice, walk, or hit by pitch does not count as an at bat.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


Does a sacrifice count as at bat?

No but it does count as an RBI if a run scores


Does a sacrifice count as a hit?

No, a sacrifice does not count as a hit nor as a time at bat. There is a special statistic kept for sacrifices.


Does a sac fly count on your batting ave?

No. Neither a sacrifice fly nor a sacrifice bunt count as an official time at bat.


Is a Batted ball that hits a bat in foul territory considered foul?

Yes. If the bat is lying on the ground when the ball hits it, the ball is considered foul. The bat is treated as an extension of the ground, just like a clump of dirt. An exception to this rule is if the bat is thrown toward the ball (for instance by the player on deck) then there is interference on the play, and interference rules apply.


What is the baseball rule when a batter is injured on a strike one foul ball and cannot continue his turn at bat?

A sub is put in for the injured player...the at bat is continued by the sub and begins his at bat with a one strike count......Anytime during an "AT BAT" the batter can be substituted for but the sub comes to bat with whatever the ball/strike count was of the player he replaced.


Can a pitcher enter with the same ball count During an at bat?

yes


Is it a foul tip if the ball goes from the bat to the glove to the mask and back into the glove and never hits the ground?

Yes. As long as it doesn't hit the ground, it is still a caught foul tip. So if the count is two strikes, of course, that catch is an out.


If a pitch hits the ground then the bat is it a strike or ball?

Strike.


What is your count at bat if you hit a ball and caught out but runner score?

3-2


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error first base?

yes


If a hitter executes a sacrifice bunt advancing a runner to second or third base but no run scores does this count as an at bat when scoring?

No, a bunt that is scored as a sacrifice is never charged as an at-bat.


Is a sacrifice ball hit caught in foul territory counted as an at bat?

No. As long as it still acted as a sacrifice fly, the at bat would could like a regular at bat. A sacrifice fly would mean that a runner would have to score as a result of the hit.


Does a sacrifice bunt hurt your batting average?

No, since a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat the batter's average stays the same.


Does a sacrifice fly count as an at bat?

NO, JUST LIKE WALKS OR HIT-BY-PITCHES DON'T


Does the 5 runs get into the account of batsmen or in the extras?

If the ball hits the bat first then the batsman will get 5 runs but if the ball haven't touched the bat then those 5 runs will count as extra runs.