answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter who reached by via catcher's interference scores, his run would be unearned, however, it cannot be determined if any runner on base scored due to catcher's interference is earned or unearned until the inning is played out and recreated without the interference or any error that may have occurred.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No. A run is only unearned if an error or passed ball (but NOT wild pitch) results in a run scoring that would not have scored (in the official scorer's judgment) had the play been made cleanly.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What does loaded bases in softball mean?

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.


What does base mean in softball?

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.


What is the umpire interference rule in high school baseball?

There are two types of umpire interference: when the umpire hinders the catcher's attempt to throw the ball and when an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball before it touches or passes an infielder, other than the pitcher. In the case of interference on a catcher's throw; if the throw retires the runner, the play stands, if not, the ball is dead and all runners return to their bases. In the case of interference on an infielder, the batter-runner is awarded first base and all other runners advance only if forced to do so.


What are the ways that Branch Rickey said you could score from third base to home with less than two outs?

I can think of 12 ways (I answered this question for someone else and onyl thought of ten): Base hit Wild pitch Passed ball Sacrifice fly Squeeze bunt Fielder's choice Ground out by batter Balk by pitcher Batter walked with bases loaded Batter hit by pitch with bases loaded Error on fielder Steal of home What about interference by the catcher on a pitched ball with the bases loaded? Would not the batter be awarded first base, thus forcing the run home from third? Answer We came up with 18: 1. Hit 2. Error 3. Passed Ball 4. Wild Pitch 5. Balk 6. Catcher's Interference 7. Sac Fly 8. Bunt 9. Bases Loaded Walk 10. Bases Loaded HBP 11. Wild pick off throw 12. Wild throw from catcher back to pitcher 13. Steal of home 14. Fielder Interference (Cecile, not Prince) 15. Fan Interference 16. Muffed Infield Fly 17. Fielder's Choice 18. Catcher's Balk


Is catcher interference scored a hit for the batter?

I was listening to a Tribe (Indians) game the other day, and that very thing happened. Apparently they awarded the batter a hit (or that might have been called ball 4, I'm not entirely sure which, but I THINK it was a hit. It's definitely not a strike. Rule 10:13(f) When an umpire awards the batter or any runner one or more bases because of interference or obstruction, charge the fielder who committed the interference or obstruction with one error, no matter how many bases the batter, or runner or runners, may advance In a 'catcher interference' call, the batter is awarded first base, and it is not an official 'at-bat', thus not counting in the batter's total 'at-bats' for the game. On "catcher interference", the batter is awarded first base, no official at-bat is charged (as it is notated in the box score as "'Joe Blow' awarded first base on catcher interference) and the catcher is charged an error.


Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


Can a runner jump over the catcher to get to home plate?

In professional baseball, yes. In some high school and college rules, no. Local/state high school associations make some special rules that are different than those used in professional baseball.


Bases are loaded and one out A ball is hit to the second baseman and he fields it cleanly but is hit by the runner therefore can't make a play.what is the ruling?

Runner is out.


Softball Bases loaded 2 outs hitter lines a ball and hits the runner on 3rd while runner is still standing on 3rd in fair territory is he out or safe dead ball?

The runner is out he/she would have to be in foul territory and on the bag.


Is there such thing as vocal interference on fly balls?

One Answer:Baseball interference is described as any infraction or action by a person that illegally alters the course of baseball play. The five types of interference are covered by the rules and different rules are applied in each type of interference. The 5 kinds of interference can be committed either by an offensive player, a player off the bench, a catcher, an umpire, and a spectator. This article describes and explains the 5 most common kinds of interference called by umpires. The 5 most frequently kinds of baseball interference that occur are:Offensive Physical InterferenceOffensive interference is when an offensive player causes a defensive player to misplay a hit ball. The offensive player physically interferes with the defensive player that is in the act of attempting to field a ball. This contact allows a base runner to advance or makes it more difficult for the player to get an out. This is the most commonly called kind of interference. When offensive interference is committed, the ball immediately becomes dead. If a batter or a base runner the commits the interference that player is called out. All runners must return to the bases they occupied at the time of the interference.If offensive interference is committed by a runner with the intent of preventing a double play, both, the batter and the runner committing the interference will be called out.Offensive Verbal InterferenceDid you know that interference can be called on a player in the dugout? A player can commit what is called "Verbal Interference" from the dugout. Verbal interference may also be called on an offensive player. Calling out "foul" on a fair ball or "mine" on a fly ball, to confuse or hinder a defensive play is offensive verbal interference.Umpire interferenceUmpire interference is when a umpire interferes with a catcher attempting to make a throw. If the umpire`s action does not prevent the catcher from making the play, the play stands. If the action by the umpire causes a runner to be safe, the ball is dead and all runners must return to their time of throw bases. Umpire interference also occurs an umpire is struck by a fair batted ball before it touches or passes near an infielder other than the pitcher. The ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance only if forced.Catcher interferenceWhen a catcher physically hinders the swing of a batter, Catcher interference is called. Catcher interference is most commonly called when the bat touches the catching mitt during a swing. This most frequently occurs when a runner is attempting to steal and the catcher is too anxious to catch the ball. When catcher interference occurs, play continues, and after continuous playing action ceases, the umpire will call time. The batter is awarded first base, any runner attempting to steal is awarded that base, and all other runners advance only if forced. The catcher is charged with an error.Spectator interferenceSpectator interference most frequently occurs when a spectator in the first row of seats reaches onto the field to attempt to grab a fair or foul fly ball. Spectator interference occurs when If the umpire judges that the fielder could have caught the ball over the field. The ball becomes dead, and the umpire will award any bases or charge any outs that, in his judgment, would have occurred without the interference.I hope that you found this article to be informative. I really appreciate you taking the time to read it.Another Answer:MLB rule 2.0 INTERFERENCE (a) states: "Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play."To have a MLB umpire call verbal interference (based on "confuses") would be extremely unusual, but other leagues, especially youth leagues or co-rec leagues, may be more likely to call it.


What is ground rule double due to fan interference if a runner on first base has already passed second before the fan touches the ball?

The batter and each runner is awarded 2 bases from where they were at the time of the pitch.