No. A balk only affects base runners. Each base runner gets to advance one base when a balk is called.
"After a Balk was called on the pitcher, the runners were allowed to advance one base."
The balk is void if the ball is hit. Just as if there was no balk called. If your batter hits the balked pitch and grounds out then he is out. Runners advance at their own risk. This is dependent on the league that is being played. In high school, a balk is immediate meaning that if the ball is hit it means nothing and the runners all move up a base. But in some leagues, it is a delayed balk. This means that if the batter reaches base and all runners move up a base the balk is waved off. At no point does the balk benefit the defense. A balk is a punishment to deceiving the offensive players or in this case the runners. So in reality the balk at no point turns void unless the offense benefits from the play.
A balk cannot be called if no one is on base. The essence of a balk is the pitcher is tiring to achieve an unfair advantage over the base runner. No runner, no advantage. If a pitcher, while no runners are on base, commits an action that would have been recognized as a balk if runners had been on base, the penalty for this is a ball. So yes, in theory, you could "walk someone without every throwing a pitch" --- (i.e), if you were on the mound and dropped the ball, that would be a "balk" and result in a ball.. The thing is, it does count on pitch count
No. A balk affects only runners and is called when there is at least one runner on base. The penalty for a balk is that all runners are allowed to advance one base. The batter is awarded nothing regardless of whether or not there are runners on base at the time of the balk. Incorrect...per MLB rule book...If a balkable offense is committed with no runners on base, a ball is awarded to the hitter.
If a "Balk" is called, all runners on base advance to the next base.
The vast majority of Balks are called on the pitcher, but a Balk can also be called on the catcher. With runners on base, if the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the pitcher releases the ball, it's Balk on the catcher. When this happens, it is almost always while attempting to give an intentional base on balls.
A balk is called before the pitch -- therefor anytime a balk is called it is a no pitch. I guess if there is a situation where the umpires allow the pitcher to finish a pitch, yet still call a balk and the batter hits the ball then nothing would happen -- this would be similar to a pitch thrown when umpire grants timeout before hand. When the balk is called the runners will advance 1 base -- if there is no runners on, then there is no reason for the umpire to call a balk, it would just be an illegal pitch, which is still a live ball in play --- the batter can swing if he wants, but if he decides not to the pitch is a ball no matter if it crosses in the strike zone or not
In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored.
In MLB, it is a balk.
The official baseball rule book defines a balk as “an illegal act by the pitcher with a runner or runners on base, entitling all runners to advance one base.
If a runner is on first, and the pitcher balks, he is awarded 2nd base. The balk rule was instituted to keep pitchers from deceiving the runners.