answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, two shot penalty. This is because the OB marker indicates the boundary of the course, you may remove hazard stakes etc, but never OB.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

No, you may not move an OB stake, this is because it marks the boundary of the course. You are however allowed to move yellow and red stakes.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

In Golf, out of bounds balls must be replayed from the designated drop area (with a penalty, of course). So, no, you can't move an out of bounds stake to hit a shot.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you move an out of bounds stake to hit a shot?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In golf if you hit OB how far can you move your ball away from the hole?

Out of bounds is the strictest rule in golf, and often the harshest. You have to replay the ball from the exact same place you just played that shot from. So if you are on the tee and hit one out of bounds, you tee it up again and you are now playing your third shot off the tee (This includes the one shot penalty). If you are in the fairway and hit it out of bounds, you replay it from as close as possible to where the original was hit from.


What does OB mean in golf?

This stands for out of bounds. It is an area of the golf course or off the golf course which is not in play. If you hit your ball out of bounds, you cannot play your next shot from there, you must re-hit your shot from the place you originally played from. There is a one shot penalty for hitting out of bounds.


On the tee you play 2 bals out of bound how do you count the stroke on yr next balls?

If you hit the ball out of bounds, you must still count that shot. Also, for every shot that is hit out of bounds, there is a one stroke penalty. So if you hit two balls out of bounds, then that is 4 strokes, and when you tee off again, that will be your 5th stroke. Hopefully that one stays in! :)


Is it legal to hit second shot from tee if first is playable?

No, there must be reasonable doubt that the first ball is either out of bounds or lost for a second shot to be able to be hit.


If you hit a bunker shot out of bounds can you rake before you hit your next shot?

When you play a shot from a bunker and hit it out of bounds, you clearly have to replay your shot. But the rules stipulate that the conditions of the previous shot must be recreated. So if you played from sand which was raked, you would rake the sand and place the ball as close to where the last shot was played from in the last shot. If you were in a footprint you would have to make a footprint and place your ball in it, and if you were in a divot, you would make a divot and place the ball in it.


What comes after 3 off the tee if you hit this shot out of bounds?

Well, hitting out of bounds is a one shot penalty and you hit the next one from the same place. If you hit 3 off the tee OB, then the next one would be 5 off the tee and 6 from the fairway or rough etc.


How much strokes does an out of bounds in golf cost you?

The penalty for hitting out of bounds is one shot, and you need to play another shot from where you played the original, so effectively it is two.If you hit you tee shot, 1st shot, out of bounds, add one stroke penalty, 2nd shot, them you are playing 3 off the tee, and therefore 4 from the fairway or rough.


What happens in golf when you hit the provisional ball out of bounds?

There may be some local variations to speed play, but generally the penalty is "stroke and distance." This means that you add a penalty stroke to your score and hit the ball again from where the original ball was struck. The player has the option of hitting a provisional ball as well.


Ball out of bounds play provisional ball?

Yes, if you think you have hit your ball in play out of bounds you must play a provisional ball from the exact same spot as where you played the previous shot from. However, if you know the ball is out of bounds the next ball you play becomes the ball in play.


How many times can you tee a ball up?

You may only tee the ball up when you are on the teeing area, hitting a tee shot. This is usually once per hole for each hole. However, if you hit a ball out of bounds you must hit another shot from where you hit the previous shot from, so you may tee the ball up. Also, if you hit a tee shot and can't find the ball you must go back to the tee and you can again tee it up.


You hit a tee shot down the right side of hole 10 there are some white stakes out of bounds which your ball has come to rest on the right side of how many penalty strokes where do you hit from next?

The proper answer is stroke and distance. You drop a ball where you hit your last shot from and add one to your total. That means you have to count the one you hit out of bounds and the one you're about to hit. Most beer leagues play O.B. like a lateral water hazard - drop within two club lengths of where the ball went out of bounds and add a penalty stroke. Or somewhere nearby. It really speeds up play, but it's not the proper procedure for serious golf.


During your opponent's swing you let out a violent sneeze that causes him to hit a shot out-of-bounds Can he replay the shot without penalty?

R & A rule 29b) i states you may not take your shot again in this instance but you may punch your playing partner full on in the face if he disturbs yoour tee shot