answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

When you play a shot from a bunker and hit it out of bounds, you clearly have to replay your shot. But the rules stipulate that the conditions of the previous shot must be recreated. So if you played from sand which was raked, you would rake the sand and place the ball as close to where the last shot was played from in the last shot. If you were in a footprint you would have to make a footprint and place your ball in it, and if you were in a divot, you would make a divot and place the ball in it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-09-05 20:09:03
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you hit a bunker shot out of bounds can you rake before you hit your next shot?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Play a shot in a bunker and fail to get out can you rake the bunker before the next shot out of the bunker?

No, because this is viewed as testing, for which you would be given a penalty.


Can you rake a bunker before your shot?

Nope


What should a golfer do before leaving the bunker?

Get into the bunker, play their shot then rake the bunker as they are leaving.


Should you rake a sand bunker if your golfball did not come out first time?

No, once you are in a bunker, you may not rake it or ground your club until you are out of that bunker. If you rake the bunker when your ball is still in it, you receive a two shot penalty or loss of the hole in match play.


What should you do after you stepped out of a sand trap?

Tap the bottoms of your shoes with your club so the sand goes back in the bunker and then rake the bunker with the rake provided.


What should you do after you step out of sand trap?

Tap the bottoms of your shoes with your club so the sand goes back in the bunker and then rake the bunker with the rake provided.


Are you allowed to rake a bunker that you have just played out of if your ball goes into another bunker green side?

Yes, absolutely. Each bunker is considered an individual hazard, not a collective hazard of bunkers. If you play out of one bunker and land in another, you may rake the one you have just played from. Note, there is a common misconception that if you are in a bunker and rake footprints before you play your shot you are penalised, this is not the case, you are only penalised if you improve the lie of the ball, your stance or test ground conditions.


What should always be used after a bunker shot?

The Rake.


Can you lay a rake in a bunker before you play your shot?

Yes, you may do this, but set it down gently and out of the way, just in case someone accuses you of testing the surface.


Can you carry a rake into the bunker?

Yes as long as you repair the markings you have made with your shoes or golf clubs


May a golfer rake a sand trap in between shots from the same bunker?

No, you are not allowed to do so, you must not rake the bunker or smooth sand over with your feet, as this is deemed to be improved your stance or testing the ground conditions. You will get a two shot penalty for testing, if you do so.


What should you do after you step out of a sand trap?

Tap the bottoms of your shoes with your club so the sand goes back in the bunker and then rake the bunker with the rake provided.

People also asked