Best Answer

Yes and no. You cannot usually hit a tennis ball that is not on your side, but if the ball bounces on your side first and, when it bounces, spins back to the opponent's side of the court, you may hit it before it bounces again.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-02-08 16:04:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


18 cards

What happens if carbon dioxide levels in the blood are too low

Which sport combined the games of handball and squash

What type of surface is the All-England championships at Wimbledon played on

Which of these sports features a competition known as the Grand Slam

See all cards
7 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you hit a tennis ball that is not on your side?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can you hit the ball in table tennis before it touches your side of the table?

No the ball must touch your side of the table before you can hit it

What is an out in tennis?

In singles...the ball hit inside of the side double lines. In doubles...the ball hit outside of the side double lines.

When tennis was first created what was the ball hit with?

In the 12th century, tennis was first hit by the ball with the hand.

In tennis what side do you hit the ball on?

It depends on each person, some might hit on the left, some might hit in the right.

What happens in tennis if a ball hits a pole and lands in on the other side of the net?

The ball is still in play as if it hit the net but went on the other side.

Can you reach over the net to hit a tennis ball?

No you cannot reach over the net to hit a tennis ball...

How do you hit a ball in tennis?

You swing your racket at the ball

What is the objective of Table Tennis?

The object of table tennis (or Ping-Pong) is to hit the ball to the other side of the table which is separated through net without it bouncing on your side AFTER you hit it and it must take one bounce on other side.

What do you hit with the racquet?

A tennis ball?!

What part of the tennis racquet makes contact WITH the tennis ball?

When you hit a tennis ball with a tennis racquet, you want the ball to contact the sweet spot of strings.

Can you hit tennis ball on opposite side of net?

No, no players can cross over the net during play.

Can you hit a tennis ball around the net?

As long as you don't hit the net and the ball stays in play by all other rules, you hit around the net. Well you could hit the net but it has to go to the opponents side if it hit in your side its the opponents point.

People also asked