If they retain the ball and advance it past the first down marker
Yes, but only if the ball doesn't cross the line of scrimmage. Once it does, the kicking team can still recover the ball but can't advance it.
No, unless the defensive team touches or recovers the ball after the initial block.
It's a touchdown.
Only if there was a penalty against the team that blocked the punt, such as offsides.
Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover. The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.
No. Statistically, the attempt and the negative yardage from a blocked punt should be assessed to the "Team," not the punter.
If the kicking team touches the ball first, they cannot gain possession. Even if the receiving team picks up the ball and fumbles it, the kicking team cannot legally recover it. The ball is dead and possessed by the receivers at the recovery point. That's right, because a punt first touched by the kicking team is always considered an illegal touch. When a kicking team downs the ball on an ordinary punt play, that's technically an illegal touch, but no penalty is assessed -- the ball simply goes over to the receiving team at that point. In the scenario presented in the question, the only difference is that the kicking team failed to down the ball on their first touch. No matter what happens after that point, they are ineligible to recover the ball.
The team blocking the pat is allowed to advance the ball and take possession, there is no kick off and the team that blocked the pat, took possession and advanced the ball start a fresh set of downs. If the ball is blocked and travels into the end-zone and the team which blocked the pat is tackled, the kicking team receives one (1) point.
The ball is always live. The kicking team, however, can only recover it after the opposing team touches it. If the Field Goal is blocked it can be recovered by the kicking team if the ball never crosses the line of scrimmage.
Yes! A blocked punt is a fumble simply because it can be advanced by which every team recovers said block. This is different then a punt returner who didn't made the catch (basically, doesn't gain possession of the ball). This is considered a "muff" and can be recovered but not advanced by either team.
Receiving team. Unless the kicking team has complete control of the ball before it goes out of bounds.
a punt may be blocked by the kicking team without penalty unless there is some other illegal act involved. As long as the kicked ball is touched prior to the blocker contacting the punter the contact is ignored. For exanmple If the punt blocker were to block the punt and then make helmet to helmet contact with the punter there would be a penalty for the illegal helmet contact but not the blocking of the punt.
No. The kicking team is penalized if a kickoff goes out of bounds, but on a punt, the ball is put in play for the receiving team at the point where it goes out of bounds.
Yes. The ball is downed and turned over to the receiving team wherever the kicking team touches it.
Yes. If the receiving team has gained control of the ball and then fumbled, the ball can be recovered and returned by the kicking team. If the ball is 'muffed' (ball touches a member of the receiving team but no member of the receiving team has possession) the ball can be recovered by the kicking team but not advanced.
Of course they can, only if they can make it!
In the NFL, the kicking team cannot score direct points on a punt. A punt that goes over the crossbars would be considered a touch back.
According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it
The receiving team can advance the ball once they gain possession. The kicking team cannot advance the ball unless it was first in possession of the receiving team.