answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. If a batter refuses to enter the batter's box, he is out. A batter is also out if someone else already in the lineup bats in their spot.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-02-05 20:28:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can an umpire call a batter out without a pitch being thrown?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can the umpire call a ball without a pitch being thrown?

No, the umpire can't call a strike or a ball until a pitch is thrown. There is no other play that uses those calls. An umpire can, however, walk the batter without a pitch being thrown if the pitcher attacks him. He can also advance a runner without a pitch being thrown if the pitcher balks. An umpire can, indeed, call a "ball" prior to a pitch. This is part of the rule designed to prevent the "spitball." This is very specifically spelled out in MLB Rule 8.02a. The pitcher may not touch his hand to his mouth while inside the mound, apply any substance to the ball, deface the ball, spit on the ball or his hand, or rub the ball against anything. The penalty is that a ball is called.


Does a batter have to call time or can he just back out?

A batter must request and then be given time from the home plate umpire. If the batter backs out of the batter's box without time being called the pitch is legal and valid.


What is the least number of pitches a pitcher can throw in a baseball game?

Zero. If a pitcher delays the pitch or if the pitcher does an illegal move the umpire is to award the batter a ball. Done 4 consecutive times the batter is awarded 1st base. If then the Pitcher picks the runner off, the first out is recorded with no pitch being thrown. Also if a batter delays the umpire is to issue the batter a strike done three consecutive times the batter would be called out. So it is possible to record an out with no pitch being thrown. Repeat for each out of each inning. Likely the answer that is being looked for is one pitch for each out of th game 27.


What are walks in baseball?

When a batter receives four pitches that the umpire calls balls, and is then entitled to reach first base without the possibility of being called out.


Batter gets hit by pitch but doesnt move?

If the Home Plate Umpire rules that the batter did not attempt to avoid being hit, batter does not get the pass to first base.


A pitcher faces a batter no pitch is thrown yet the batter goes to first base?

One Answer:This is called a balk i believe Another Answer:In MLB, there are some rules that, upon violation by the pitcher, the umpire can award a "ball" to the batter. So, theoretically, if the pitcher violates these rules 4 times in succession, the batter would be awarded first base without a pitch being thrown. Note: the batter is not awarded a "ball" when the pitcher balks, nor is he awarded first base; this may have been the rule years ago, but it is not the rule today. Also, some youth and recreational leagues have a rule that, if a pitcher intentionally walks a batter, the next batter has the choice of being awarded first base or of taking his normal time at bat.


What is the baseball bat used for?

It is used by the batter to hit the baseball, which is being thrown by the opposing teams pitcher.


Can a person may receive three strikes before being called out?

If you are talking about baseball/softball, then no, on the 3rd strike called by the umpire, the player/batter is out.


Is it a base hit when you get thrown out at second base when a runner advances to home?

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.


If a batter throws the bat after being warned is he out and does a run scored on that play count when there are already two outs?

There is no rule that addresses a batter throwing the bat. It's a safety issue that the umpire must use his judgment on.


What is catcher interferance?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.


If the batter does not make a reasonable effort to avoid being hit by a pitch can the umpire disallow the batter moving to first base?

Yes. This rule was famously enforced to prevent Don Drysdale's consecutive inning scoreless streak from ending.

People also asked