answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-28 11:01:03
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner on third base steal home on a dropped third strike?

Yes, if it just merely a dropped 3rd strike and he is safe, then he will be credited with a steal, however, if the pitch is ruled a passed ball or wild pitch, then the runner will not be credited with a stolen base, but rather just advancing on a passed ball/wild pitch


Can a runner on first steal a base on a strike swing?

if a batter swings and misses and a runner is on base and the runner is stealing then he can steal a base. Not sure what you mean though on a strike swing.


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


Who covers second in a steal from 1st base?

Either the second basemen or the short stop in responsible for covering second when a runner is trying to steal.


What is a double steal?

say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and


What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


Can you steal on a strike in softball?

You certainly may. A base-runner may leave the bag as soon as the pitcher releases the ball.


If a runner is on first and the batter gets tagged out can the runner return to first or must he go to second?

Baseball QuestionIm pretty sure that the runner can either steal second or return to first. What ever is more safe. Answer:Once the batter is tagged out the runner can return to 1st base, however, until the batter is out, the runner at 1st is required to advance to 2nd (if he prefers, i guess he could just stand on 1st base, but he would not be safe, as 1st base would belong to the runner until he is out) ----- now further into question.. the above answer would refer to a batted ball where the batter put the ball in play with a swing or bunt -- if you are referring to a dropped 3rd strike -- if a runner is on 1st and there are less then 2 outs, the batter cannot advance on a dropped 3rd strike, he is just out --- if there were 2 outs in this situation.. once he is tagged out the half inning is over so what the guy does at 1st base is irrelevant


When can a runner steal second base?

when the pitcher makes his first move towards home.


Can runners advance on a dropped 3 rd strike and less than 2 outs?

Runners can advance in any case even with 2 outs. The batter is different. If first base is occupied with less than 2 outs then the batter cannot advance but everyone else can... It would be more of a steal than drop strike though. If there are 2 outs and he strikes out on a dropped strike, the batter is allowed to advance with a runner already occupying first. In any other case you can go whenever you please


Can a runner on second base steal 3rd base on ball four?

Yes, unless there are runners on both 1st and 2nd bases. In that case, the runner from second is awarded third - it is not stolen.


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


If you have a runner on first and a runner on third and the runner on first attempts to steal second at the same time the runner on third takes off and scores does the batter get the RBI?

ed Parker isn't


In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


Who is it easier to steal first base from left or right handed pitcher?

You can't steal first base. It's easier to steal second base off of a right handed pitcher because the right handed pitcher has his back to the runner on first, and therefore has a harder time trying to pick the runner off.


If a runner is on second base and the batter takes ball four can the runner on second steal third base?

yes because as long as the ball was taken the movement is still able to be played. also depending on what league of baseball you play.


Can you steal from home to first?

in the MLB you can run to first if you swing on a third strike and the catcher does not catch it, he has to tag you or throw down to first, it's rare that the runner is safe


When can a runner steal a base?

A base runner can steal a base at any time while he is on base. The only reason they wouldn't give him the steal is if the ball was fouled or he was thrown out by the catcher.


Can you block second base during a steal attempt?

You can block any base as long as you have the ball, if you do not have the ball you can be called for interference and the runner can have the base.


With two outs and two strikes the runner on third steals home and beats the ball there and is called safe and then the batter is called out for the third strike does the run count?

technically a steal from third to home


Can a runner on third base steal home when the batter gets ball four?

Yes. The game is in play unless someone call time out. Any runner can still advance although if forced, the runner on first or the runners on first and second get free passes. The batter can take his time going to first but all other runners are in play. That's why you never see a catcher trying to catch a the runner going from 1st to second on a steal because on ball 4, if there's an error on the throw, everyone can still advance.


Should a double steal be called when there are runners on first and second with no outs?

In my opinion I would not call a double steal in this situation for 2 reasons: 1. For the runner on second to advance to third on this play is very low and will most likely get thrown out. 2. The first two runners have gotten on base safely, having the start of a rally. Most likely the pitcher is struggling and it is very likely that runs will be scored. If a runner is to get caught stealing it could kill the rally and have a quick ending to the inning. Although it is suggested to not double steal in this situation it is also determind by the batter and his abilities and the runner's spead.


When the pitcher has the ball but is not on the mound can the runner steal a base in cal ripken major?

In any fastpitch softball if the pitcher is not on the mound the runner can steal, but the pitcher can always throw the ball 2 get them out.


Can a runner advance on foul tip to the catchers glove?

Yes. In all rules, a foul tip immediately caught by the catcher is considered exactly like a strike. As such, a base runner is allowed to attempt to steal a base on a foul tip. Note, however, that if the catcher drops a foul tip, it is considered to be a foul ball, and no base runner may advance.