answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No they can not return to another lessor base under their on accord after the completion of the play where they gained the higher base. If the play where they gained 3rd is still live then the can choose to return to 2nd.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

The second runner can, assuming he hasn't crossed in front of the lead runner. If he does that, they are both called out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

no,you can just run through 1st and home but make sure you touch home

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

What's the rest of the question? A runner can advance for many reasons. No outs, one out or two outs has no barring for the runner advancing.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner return to second after acquiring third in softball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


What if a runner rounds third then retreats only to find a runner from second is now on third and he retreats to second but is tagged out what happens to the runner on third?

Lead runner has the right to the bag as long as they are not being forced ahead by occupants of other bases. If the runner on 3rd was not being forced they can return to the bag and the runner from 2nd must return to 2nd. The runner returning to second if tagged is out and unless the runner returning to 3rd is tagged while off the base then they are safe. If both runner attempt to occupy the base at the same time and fielder tags both runners while they occupy the base the runner from 2nd is out unless they are being forced ahead then the runner from 3rd is out.


What are some rules of fastpitch softball?

There are a lot of rules to softball but you said a few so I will name some of them. ONE:If there is a throw down to second base then the second basemen has to tag the runner and not simply touch the bag with her foot . TWO:If the ball is hit into a pop fyly ball and if the ball is caught and if there is a runner that ran to the next base then the runner has to tag back up on the bag that they came from before they can go to the next base. THREE:If the batter is batting in the box and the catcher is in the way of the batter and interfears with the hit then the batter gets to go to first base. There you go. Three rules about softball.


Is it a hit in softball if you hit the runner and reach 1st base safely?

If a fair batted ball touches a runner in fair territory, it's interference, the runner is Out, the batter is awarded a hit and given 1B, and all runners must return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance by the batter being awarded 1B.


What is the rule in asa softball if a runner tags base before the flyball is caught?

The runner has to run back to first base before the ball is thrown to get her out. She has to tag back on first no matter if the ball was caught before she tagged second base or not. She has to tag back at first to be able to run to second or she will most likely be out.


What is in-field play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


Is it a force out at second base if the out at first occurs before the out at second?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


In softball is the first basemen allowed to stand right on top of the base when a runner is running to the firstbase?

Yes, however it is not recommended because if the first basemen is on the base while the runner is running and the runner runs into the first basemen there will be no calls made on interference and injury is very possible. This is why you have the orange/white double first bases in youth softball. The first baseman can actually be called for interference if they are blocking the white base in youth softball just as they can for blocking second or third.


What is a double steal?

say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and


Is there a force out at 1st base in a softball?

Actually, a force out in Softball is, for example: If runners are on first and second, the force out is at third because the runner is forced to run to third base due to the runners behind him/her.


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.