answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

only if he is in your baseline

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-13 19:27:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner knock over the first baseman on his way to first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does first baseman hold runner on with runners on first and 2nd?

The first baseman will in some cases. If the runner at first is a very important potential run with less than two outs, yes they will be held. Holding the runner on decreases the lead-off the runner has, so by holding the runner, the runner has longer to go to score. If there are two outs, the fielders will normally not hold the runner because if any out is recorded, the inning is over. In this case you want the fielder in the best position to get the out. In other cases, it is just the coach's philosophy.


Is the runner out if the first baseman drops the ball but then places his other hand over the ball while the ball is lying on the ground before the runner reaches first base.?

The first baseman must "have control of the ball". If his hand is on it pinning it to the ground, the call is safe. If he picks it up or in any other way, shows he/she has "control" of the ball, the call is out.


Can a first baseman go in the base line of the batter running to first?

If the first baseman is making a play on a batted ball it is the responsibility of the runner to yield. If there is contact the runner may be declared out. If the first baseman is fielding a thrown ball and there is contact the umpire will usually call the play as it happens and consider the contact incidental. If the first baseman is standing in the baseline while making no play on the ball, he can be legally knocked down and the umpire can rule that the contact prevented the runner from advancing and award as many bases as he determines. That will generally just be one extra base unless the runner gets up and reaches second safely and is thrown out at third. When the contact occurs the umpire should have his hand out in a fist signifying that there has been obstruction and then make his ruling after the play is over. No base will be awarded if there is a runner on first when the batter hits the ball and said runner cannot reach third safely. In this case the contact becomes moot as the runner on second may not be awarded an extra base for obstruction on a player behind him. Many teams put a big kid at first to stand in the way and delay the runners. If an appeal to the coaches and umpires does not get him to move then your players will have to run him over or take the contact get up and try for the next base. If the first baseman is just plain "purposely" blocking the bag as the runner has arrived and the ball is on its way but not there yet the batter should be awarded first base.


Can you tackle a runner by tripping?

Not sure exactly what you're asking, but yes, you can knock a runner over by tripping into them. All it really takes is a hard shove, because a runner's feet rarely touch the ground at the same time.


What does a strike mean in bowling?

A strike is when you knock all of the bowling pins down on the first try. If you don't knock any down the first try, but on the second try you knock them all over, it is still condsidered a spare because it took you two tries to knock them all over.


How can you knock over a full glass and not spill any water?

Freeze it first. Alternatively, fill it with oil so that when you knock it over it won't be water that you spill.


With runners on first and third the batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman who tags the runner going to second base before he reaches it does the run count?

Not if that is the 3rd out in the inning...even if he tagged him after the runner reached home... now if the runner over ran the bag and was then tagged the run would count... But in the case of a force out or fielders choice to end the inning the run would not count. It doesn't matter whether the out was recorded by stepping on the base or by tagging the runner. The important thing is that the runner did not reach the base to which he was forced to run. The same would be true if the batter was tagged out while running to first.


When did the first vampire start?

The first vampire started at 2:35, five minutes after the Swiss runner. However he was quickly over-taken by the Algerian runner and the German runner and is not expected to have a elimination worthy time.


What was the first knock knock joke?

It was back in caveman days, when one of them knocked another over the head with a club. "Knock knock." "Who's there?" "Grog." "Grog who?" "Grog crack skull, take cave and woman!"You had to be there.Knock knock your face?


Men on 1st 2nd- batter hits ground ball-runner on 2nd goes to 3rdstays on base- hitter runs to firststays on base- 1st base runner goes to 2nd and over runs it does second baseman have to tag runne?

Yes. Runner on 1st has reached 2nd and eliminated the "force" out, but after overrunning the bag, he must be tagged out.


What is the orange base in baseball at first base?

I believe the orange base is a safety base for when you run thru the bag you don't run over the first baseman


Baseball rule when Milton Bradley threw the ball into the stands?

A player hits the ball and heads toward first. When an opponent fields the ball and throws it over the first baseman's head and into the stands, the player can go to first and then to second. He can go to the base he is going to and one more. The same thing happens if it goes into the dugout. If the player had touched first base and started heading for second when the ball flew over the first baseman's head, the runner could have gone to third. Usually, the runners are glad when the ball hits the wall and does not go in the stands because they are fast enough to make it to second and if it hits at the right angle he can make it to third.

People also asked