"Foul" is a term used to describe an offence punishable by a direct free kick. If a defender fouls an attacker in the defender's penalty area then a penalty kick is the prescribed restart.
There's a loophole in your question.
What if the attacker fouls the defender in the defender's penalty area? A direct free kick is awarded to the defense.
Penalty kicks are awarded for any foul that would warrant a direct free kick that occurs inside the penalty box. This is done because when the play is close to the goal and a foul is committed in order to break up the scoring opportunity, the player/team fouled deserves another chance to score.
The offending player would most likely get a straight red, and a penalty would be awarded.
If a player fouls an opposing team player in their 'own penalty box' a penalty is awarded
You get a penalty pass, where the other player who fouled you stands next to you or you if you are in the D, you can have a penalty shot.
A penalty kick is awarded when a defender commits a direct free kick offense, against an attacker, within his own penalty area, and during active play. The penalty kicker places the ball on the penalty mark, 12 yards from the goal, and gets a one-on-one kick against the opposing goal keeper. All other players must be outside of the penalty area, 10 yards from the ball, and behind the ball at the taking of the kick.
It isn't a penalty award. It's being awarded a penalty and it's when a player is fouled (brought to the ground by the opposing team without clearing the ball) in the penalty box (the box around the goal) and the fouled team get a penalty kick, which is when the chosen taker gets a kick directly at goal with only the goal keeper in the way from the penalty spot , which is the white circle in the middle of the penalty box. Though players can miss the shot and keepers do often save the shots it is very most likely that the player will score from the penalty so nobody ever likes to be the team who gave the penalty away
A goalkeeper is fouled when - A) He intentionally fouls another player inside or outside the goalbox B) He handles the ball after a deliberate back pass from his team mate or throw in C) He handles the ball outside the penalty box D) He moves off the goal line before a penalty is taken.
If an attacker was fouled in the penalty area by anyone on the defending team, including the goalkeeper, then the resulting restart would be a penalty kick from the penalty mark for the team that was fouled. In this instance, it seems to point to a foul.
If the penalty was successful, then no goal is awarded and the kick is retaken. If the penalty was not successful, then no goal is awarded and an indirect free kick is awarded to the defense. They will not get a 2nd shot at the goal because their own player infringed.
What I think you meant is, "what is the penalty for deliberately handling the ball?" If it is deemed to not be deliberate, then there is no offense. If a player deliberately handles the ball the other team is awarded a direct free kick at the location of the infraction. If it's done by a defender inside the defender's penalty area then a penalty kick would be awarded instead.
When a player commits a foul in his own penalty area (the one surrounding the goal that he is protecting), such as pushing an opponent, a penalty kick is awarded to the attacking team, unless advantage is played. In some places, very young players do not use penalty kicks, such as U-8 games in the United States, and sometimes all free kicks are indirect.
A penalty shot is awarded when the player has a clear opportunity to skate up to and shoot on the goalie without an opposing player in between them AND an opposing player comes from behind (or from the side) and infracts the player (by tripping, hooking, throwing the stick, etc). There is some judgment by the referee as to whether the player had a clear break or not. If the penalty shot is not awarded, then a minor penalty is.