answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

I believe so. I think Shane Victorino does it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2009-05-13 19:12:58
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

baseball

1 card

baseball

➑️
See all cards
3.33
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
3 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pitcher switch hands during a pitch to the same batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a pitcher switch throwing arms during a single at bat?

Yes. A switch-pitcher is allowed to change hands during an at-bat. At the start of the at-bat, the pitcher must declare which arm he will throw with so the batter can determine which side of the plate he will bat at. Each player may switch sides one time during the at-bat and must make this known to the umpire-in-chief before-hand.


Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...


If a baseball pitcher were equally talented pitching left or right handed can he switch in the middle of an at bat?

pitchers may not switch throwing hands in the middle of an at bat. they may switch from hitter to hitter however There is nothing I have found in the MLB rules that states a pitcher cannot switch throwing hands when facing a single batter. Maybe someone can point out the specific rule that states what the above answerer says is factual? There is no rule in the official baseball scores that say a pitcher cannot change his hands. However, just as a batter cannot switch while the pitcher is on the rubber, so too can the pitcher not switch while on the rubber, as that would be an illegal motion while in the set position and be considered a balk (with runners on) or a ball (with bases empty).


What would happen if a switch-hitter batted against a switch-pitcher?

This actually happened not long ago in a semi-pro game. The pitcher switched hands, so the batter switched sides of the plate. Then the pitcher switched back, as did the batter. This literally went on for a minute or so, before the umpire finally stepped in and made them play ball. It was humorous to watch.


Meaning of batter is?

The batter is the player who has a bat in his hands and tries to hit the ball thrown by the pitcher.


Can a right handed pitcher change to left handed in a game?

Yes, but if he starts a batter right-handed he must finish that batter right-handed (or left-handed if he started the batter left-handed). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Would it be possible for someone to note the rule in MLB, or in any organized baseball league, that states a pitcher cannot change hands to a batter during an at bat. This question comes up a lot with the question of 'can a batter switch sides of the plate during an at bat'. It would be great if someone could note the rule concerning this.


Can you switch hands during a match?

yes you can switch hands between tennis matches although its tricky.


Can a apitcher switch hands during an atbat?

No. Otherwise you would get this situation: 1) Batter bats a specific side of the plate to get an advantage over pitcher. 2) Pitcher switches pitching hand to negate the advantage. 3) Batter changes side to regain advantage. 4) Repeat steps (2) and (3) ad infinitum. To prevent this, baseball has decided that step (1) is the end of the loop.


Can a little league pitcher switch throwing hands?

Pat Venditte did, so yeah.


Has there ever been a switch handed pitcher?

yes there was a switch pitcher and his name was pat venditte on the new york yankees and you could switch the way your batting even if your not a switch hitter cause many people say it would not be fair that the pitcher can switch hands and most of the batters aren't switch hitters so they can only switch sides three times and then they had to stay where they are even if they're aren't a switch hitter


Is there any rule that prevents an ambidextrous pitcher from throwing with either hand to the same batter?

No.More info on the ruleHarris, (pitched with both hands as an Expo in 1995) was with six clubs over a 15-year career. When he was with Boston, word of his odd talent got out and Bobby Brown, the American League president, gave umpires these rules: The pitcher must indicate which hand he intended to use. The pitcher may change arms on the next hitter but must indicate the arm to be used. No warm-up pitches between the change of arms and if an arm is injured, the pitcher may change arms and the umpire must be notified of the injury. The injured arm cannot be used again in that game.addition:earlier this year in 2010 in a minor league game there was a situation with an ambidextrous pitcher who was pitching when a switch hitter came to the plate. After about 15 minutes of the pitcher switching hands and the batter switching sides of the plate, it was determined that the pitcher must declare which hand he will pitch with, and cannot change until the next batter. It is now a rule for MLB


Can a pitcher put dirt on his hands?

Yes u can put sand on your hands. It helps with control.

People also asked