answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No , a pawn captures diagonally ~ see related link below .

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-12-28 04:44:08
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pawn take another piece from the front?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What can a pawn take out in chess?

A pawn can take any oponents piece


Can a pawn take anyother piece in chess?

The pawn has the power of capturing any chess piece .


How does a pawn move?

A pawn may move one or two spaces forward. It may only take another piece by moving diagonally.


What takes out what in chess?

its very simple, as long as your piece can "legally" take your oponents, it can take it. eg a pawn can take a queen, a pawn is the least desired piece and a queen is the most valuable.


Can a pawn take every chess piece?

Yes, it can but, it is highly unlikely.


In chess cant a king only move forward on its first go?

No, a king can move one square in any direction on its first move or it can 'castle.' The pawn is the only piece that is restricted to forward-only movement. The pawn may only move forward (toward the enemy), one square at a time, unless it's making an opening move, in which case it can move one or two squares. The pawn can only change direction to take a piece -- a pawn can take a piece that is one square forward diagonally (that is, up and right, or up and left one square). The pawn cannot take a piece directly in front of it.


Can you take up an apponents piece in chess without moving?

Yes, you can. There is a move called "en passant" that enables you to take a pawn without moving. If the opponent's pawn jumps two spaces in its first move to avoid being taken by your pawn, "en passant" is in effect and you can take his pawn.


When you get a piece back where does it go in chess?

If you get a piece back by moving a pawn to the enemy's side it would originally take the place of the pawn, yet some people play (with modified rules) that the piece is taken back to the person's own side (the person that got across the board with the pawn). In professional chess (such as tournaments) plays in the way that if a pawn is to cross to the enemy's side, that pawn becomes a queen.


When you get a pawn to the end of the board can you make it any piece you want?

Yes, any piece you choose except another king.However, it is silly to take anything but a queen, unless the situation requires a knight to ensure checkmate.


Do you get a piece back when you take out a queen in chess?

you get one of your pawns to the other side of the board. then, you can take what ever piece you lost in the beginning. (besides a nother pawn)


How do you use en passant?

Assuming you're talking about en passant in chess I'll explain. Say you haven't moved a pawn and there is another pawn threatening the space one up from your pawn. Suppose you move your pawn two spaces up taking it out of harms way of your opponents pawn. En passant is when they move to the space that you would've moved to if you'd only moved the pawn up one . They take you piece and take the space you would've moved to. This move only works with pawns.


What happens when a pawn reaches the other side of the chess board and the king is in front of it?

Nothing special. More than likely the king will take the pawn.

People also asked