answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, pawns can only capture diagonally.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-06-16 22:35:34
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pawn capture in front of it?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a king capture a pawn?

Yes, the king can capture a pawn.


Can a pawn capture a king?

Yes , a pawn can capture the King given the proper support .


In chess can a pawn capture a king?

No, a pawn can not check or checkmate a king.


Can a pawn become a queen on a diagonal capture or a forward capture or both?

Pawn's can't capture forward, only diagonal. Yes, a pawn that reaches the eighth rank will be promoted if it reached it by capturing another piece.


How does a pawn capture a piece in chess?

A pawn captures another piece by moving diagonally one square forward to the square where the enemy piece is located. The pawn cannot capture a piece that is directly in front of it. Another way a pawn captures is under a special rule which applies only to another pawn. If White has a pawn on the 5th rank and Black moves a pawn one file over two spaces from the 7th rank to the 5th rank, the White pawn may capture the Black pawn even though the black pawn is now right beside it by moving one square diagonally forward right behind the Black pawn. This is called capturing "en passant"


Can a pawn kill another pawn by en passant?

A pawn can capture an enemy pawn by En Passant ~ see related link below .


How do you use a pawn to checkmate a king in chess?

The pawn can checkmate the king but only in conjunction with at least one other piece to protect the pawn from capture by the king and at least one enemy piece placed near the king so that it cuts off any escape avenues the king would have. If a pawn places a king in check and the king is completely surrounded by his own pieces in such a way that its only move would be capture the pawn and if no enemy piece is placed so that it can capture that pawn and if the pawn is protected from capture by one of its own pieces, the pawn has checkmated the king.


Can a pawn at d4 kill knight at e5?

Yes , a pawn at d4 can capture a knight at e5 .


Can a pawn capture a knight?

No you can't if you do it is called cheating.


Can you make a sentence using the word capture?

Sure. ' My opponent decided to capture my pawn in a game.'


Can a pawn capture diagonally two spaces on the first move?

No. The pawn may either capture diagonally one space, or move forward one or two spaces.


What is a poison pawn in chess?

It is a term used in chess to refer to a pawn that at first sight appear to be an easy capture. However, if the capture is made it will mean several (estrategical or tactical) complications to the player that captured it, as it was a "poisonous pawn".

People also asked