Yes, a pawn may capture any piece on the board as long as it is a legal move. One way it could happen is the pawn is blocking lets say a Bishop or a Rook from attacking the opponent's king. The pawn moves to a square where it attacks the Queen. Normally the Queen would either just capture the pawn or move away from it. But if the move of the pawn now places the king in check from that Bishop or Rook (this is called a discovered check) the King must move out of check. If the player now in check has no alternative but to move the King out of check, then once he moves the king, the pawn is free to capture the Queen.
Yes. It is very rare. It cannot be done alone with a pawn. Other pieces must be "protecting" the pawn. This means there must be, for example, a rook two spaces to the right of it so the pawn can't be taken by the king.
The pawn must have protection for this to occur.
Yes , a pawn can capture the King given the proper support .
No, a pawn can not check or checkmate a king.
No you can't if you do it is called cheating.
Yes, the king can capture a pawn.
ya!if its wrong i'm sorry. I love chess
The pawn can checkmate the king but only in conjunction with at least one other piece to protect the pawn from capture by the king and at least one enemy piece placed near the king so that it cuts off any escape avenues the king would have. If a pawn places a king in check and the king is completely surrounded by his own pieces in such a way that its only move would be capture the pawn and if no enemy piece is placed so that it can capture that pawn and if the pawn is protected from capture by one of its own pieces, the pawn has checkmated the king.
A pawn captures another piece by moving diagonally one square forward to the square where the enemy piece is located. The pawn cannot capture a piece that is directly in front of it. Another way a pawn captures is under a special rule which applies only to another pawn. If White has a pawn on the 5th rank and Black moves a pawn one file over two spaces from the 7th rank to the 5th rank, the White pawn may capture the Black pawn even though the black pawn is now right beside it by moving one square diagonally forward right behind the Black pawn. This is called capturing "en passant"
Pawn's can't capture forward, only diagonal. Yes, a pawn that reaches the eighth rank will be promoted if it reached it by capturing another piece.
This is a special capture made immediately after a player moves a pawn two squares forward from its starting position, and an opposing pawn could have captured it as if it had moved only one square forward. In this situation, the opposing pawn may capture the pawn as if taking it "as it passes" through the first square. The resulting position is the same as if the pawn had only moved one square forward and the opposing pawn had captured normally. For more info, see Related Links, below.
When a pawn reaches the eighth rank, it is promoted to another piece, not including a king.
Yes , a pawn at d4 can capture a knight at e5 .
No - pawns only move forward - except when capturing a piece. They're not allowed to move laterally.
It is a term used in chess to refer to a pawn that at first sight appear to be an easy capture. However, if the capture is made it will mean several (estrategical or tactical) complications to the player that captured it, as it was a "poisonous pawn".
Sure. ' My opponent decided to capture my pawn in a game.'
No, pawn king plays Battlefield. That is all.
what a stupid question you capture a king!
Yes. A pawn may checkmate a king in the right situation. Note, however, that technically speaking a king is never "killed" but is checkmated. The game is over before the pawn actually captures or "kills" the king.