Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.
It depends on what the count on the batter is when he is thrown out. If there are 2 strikes on the batter and his substitute gets struck out, the at-bat is contributed to the first batter. Otherwise, all stats will be awarded to the substitute batter.
The batter is the player who has a bat in his hands and tries to hit the ball thrown by the pitcher.
If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.
It is used by the batter to hit the baseball, which is being thrown by the opposing teams pitcher.
Until the 1887 MLB season, a batter could call for a pitch to be thrown high or low.
If the runner who started on 3rd base is the one thrown out at home, no it is not a hit. It is ruled a fielder's choice
No, but the manager usually pulls a starting pitcher when they have thrown about 100 pitches.
Hit By Pitch - when a batter is struck by a thrown ball from the pitcher, either intentionally or unintentionally.
A strike in softball is when a pitcher pitches a softball to the batter [located in the batter box in front of the catcher] and the batter misses. When it is a strike, it is thrown in a particular area from the batter's armpits to the bottom of their knees.
One Answer:This is called a balk i believe Another Answer:In MLB, there are some rules that, upon violation by the pitcher, the umpire can award a "ball" to the batter. So, theoretically, if the pitcher violates these rules 4 times in succession, the batter would be awarded first base without a pitch being thrown. Note: the batter is not awarded a "ball" when the pitcher balks, nor is he awarded first base; this may have been the rule years ago, but it is not the rule today. Also, some youth and recreational leagues have a rule that, if a pitcher intentionally walks a batter, the next batter has the choice of being awarded first base or of taking his normal time at bat.
That all depends on the manager. If the pitcher is struggling, the manager might take him out of the game. If he is doing fine, the manager will probably keep him in the game. If the pitcher is thrown out of the game, for either breaking the rules, or being unsportsmanlike, he would then have to come out of the game.
It is a ballIt is made of leatherIt has red stitchingIt is thrown by the pitcherIt is hit by the batterIt is caught by the catcher
In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.
They may be, if the pitcher asks for it to be replaced. But if the pitcher does not, it remains in the game.
'Give up a home run' is a term for a pitcher who has thrown a pitch that a batter has hit for a home run. When a batter hits a home run you might here the announcer say 'That was the 4th home run given up by [pitcher] this season'. That means the pitcher has thrown four pitches that batters have hit for home runs.
Zero. If a pitcher delays the pitch or if the pitcher does an illegal move the umpire is to award the batter a ball. Done 4 consecutive times the batter is awarded 1st base. If then the Pitcher picks the runner off, the first out is recorded with no pitch being thrown. Also if a batter delays the umpire is to issue the batter a strike done three consecutive times the batter would be called out. So it is possible to record an out with no pitch being thrown. Repeat for each out of each inning. Likely the answer that is being looked for is one pitch for each out of th game 27.
-- the ball, thrown over the plate by the pitcher -- the bat, illegally thrown by the batter before beginning his run to first base -- the outfielder's glove, thrown into the air after the last out in the ninth -- the cup of beer, thrown onto the field by a fan in the bleachers
No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.
at the end of any inning, a batter would be in the box with a runner on base. then the runner gets thrown out, either stealing or in a pick of play. the batter never completed his AB but the pitcher did face him
In a word, NO! You are going to allow a batter to dictate what kind of pitch you throw because of something other than his talents? You will add a ball to the count, get the umpire upset, possibly hurt the batter, and get your butt thrown out of the game. Doesn't sound like a good idea to me.
Neither -- a hit batsman is a pitch thrown that hits the batter, even if the catcher immediately catches the ball after that contact. A wild pitch is a pitch thrown so badly that the catcher is not able to catch it, but which does not hit the batter. An "error" in baseball terminology has nothing to with pitching -- it is a fielding mistake. A pitcher can commit an error, but only on a batted or thrown ball.
A curveball or slider.
Both the catcher and the pitcher have to know what pitch is going to be thrown. This is is usually only done in the MLB because of the variety and ferocity of pitches. When the catcher knows what pitch is going to be thrown it gives him a better chance of catching the pitch and less chance of making a costly error. If the pitcher were to signal the catcher what pitch is going to be thrown, the batter could easily see the signal and eventually decipher the signal. This is why you see the catcher giving the signal quickly and out of sight of the batter.