answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes he can. If you want proof you can see it in a Super Bowl XLIII re-run where #92 of the Steelers ran that interception back for a touchdown. Larry Fitzgerald was out of bounds just before he tackled #92 in the end zone. Only if the player was forced out of bounds by the opposing team can he come back in to make a tackle which was not the case in SB XLIII and Fitzgerald. He may have been forced out by an Arizona player but he was no forced out by a Pittsburgh player. He was not flagged because they simply did not see it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 11y ago

I read all the NFL penalty rules and there is no penalty for a defender being out of bounds or going out of bounds and tackling a ball carrier, which is why there was no penalty on the play. Because for a penalty to be called it would have to be against the rules, and there is no rule against it. So, yes, a defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and make a tackle.

As a side note, some people claim the tackle rule is the same as the "out of bounds player being the first to touch the ball" as why this is illegal. These are two completely different circumstances and are not interchangeable.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 14y ago

yes the defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and tackle a player. the reason is because the defensive player doest have the ball so it would not be illeagle.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 13y ago

No. Once a player on the kicking or receiving team steps out of bounds, he is ineligible for the remainder of the play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 14y ago

Type your answer here... yes

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 15y ago

Yes he is.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a defensive player go out of bounds then return to the field to tackle an offensive player?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the penalty when an offensive player touches the ball on a punt return and then it goes out of bounds?

Edit category This is not a basketball question. Punting is football related.


If a fumble occurs and the player is out of bounds can he come back and pick up the ball and continue play?

A defensive player may go out of bounds and then come back in bounds and make a tackle or recover a fumble. An offensive player may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then catch a pass. The only other rule about going out of bounds in the college rulebook is that a member of the kicking team may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then come back onto the field to make a play.


When can a punt returner in football go out of bounds and return in bounds to return the punt?

Never . No one can go out of bounds and be the first one to touch the ball.


Can a gunner run down the field out of bounds then reenter to tackle the ball carrier?

Only if he is forced out. If the gunner voluntarily runs out of bounds to avoid blockers on the return team, and then runs back in bounds to make the tackle, it is a penalty.


Can a offense player go out of bounds then return to the field and receive a ball?

If they are inbounds when they catch the ball, it is okay. Catching it out of bounds doesn't count, even if you were pushed. And if you caught it inbounds, but were pushed out of bounds before your feet came down, it can be ruled as a legal catch.


Can a player touch the ball and step out of bounds and come back in a gain possession of the ball?

Yes, if the player establishes himself in bounds by placing both feet inside the court. If one foot has not been re-established, then it is a violation of being out of bounds while collecting the ball, resulting in a turnover.


First defensive player to score in the Super Bowl?

DB Herb Adderley of the Green Bay Packers on a 60 yard interception return in the 4th quarter of Super Bowl II.


Can you score in volleyball without serving?

Yes. the other team can hit it out of bounds or you can hit it over and they cant return it


If a pass is intercepted by defense he fumbles it and a player that was on offense recovers and runs in for a touchdown is it an offensive or defensive touchdown?

Yes. You can watch a video of Robert Meachem from the New Orleans Saints doing just this at this link. http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-cant-miss-plays/09000d5d814beadd/Week-13-Jaw-dropper


Who wins the point if on return the ball bounces on both sides before being hit for example I return the ball and it bounces on the opposing side then my side and then goes out of bounds...?

yes u still get the point b/c the ball was out causeing the ball to be dead and u get the point if the oppising player hit the ball out of bounds on a RETURN if the opposing player served it and it was out they get 1 more do over and if it is out again u get the point whether u hit it back or not b/c once its out its dead


If a ball touches a fielder and goes into the stands is it a groundrule double?

No, it is not a ground rule double. If an offensive player other than the batter kicks a batted fair ball out of play, he is out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Note: the umpire may also call the batter out, at the umpire's discretion. If the batter kicks a batted fair ball out of play, he is out for interference, the ball is dead, and all runners return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If any offensive player kicks a batted foul ball out of play, the ball is dead, and it is up to the umpire's discretion as to whether the ball is foul or whether the player or batter is out for interference and which bases the runners and batter are awarded. If a defensive player kicks a pitched ball out of play, the ball is dead, and all runners, including the batter if the pitch was ball four, are awarded one or two bases from the base they occupied at the time the ball was kicked (see MLB rule 7.05 for whether one or two bases). If a defensive player kicks a batted foul ball out of play, it is a foul ball. If a defensive player kicks a batted fair ball out of play, the batter is awarded second base, and all runners are awarded two bases from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If a defensive player kicks a ball out of play which has already been touched by another defensive player, all runners including the batter advance two bases from the base they occupied at the time the ball was kicked.


Returned field goal in football is this considered a defensive touchdown?

No. This would be considered a special teams TD similar to a kickoff return for a TD or punt return for a TD.