No, an attempted bunt can never be ruled an infield fly.
No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.
Any umpire may indicate the infield fly rule is in effect by yelling "Infield Fly" and extending his right hand above his head and pointing. However, the infield fly rule is in effect whether or not any umpire does this.
that is impossible because if you hit an infield fly then your out and the ball is in the in field not over the wall.
Umm Yea really anybody that's playing deffense during that inning can catch an infield fly hell even a center feilder could catch an infield fly if he's fast enough
No, it is not considered a sacrifice unless the batter is advanced as a result of a bunt. Also, a fly ball that is caught is only considered a sacrifice if a runner tags and scores on the play. If a runner tags at 1B or 2B on the caught fly ball, and advances one base, it is not considered a sacrifice fly.
No. The infield fly rule is only for fly balls within the infield. The reason for this is so that a defender cannot intentionally drop a fly ball in order to create a double or triple play. If a fly ball is dropped in foul territory, no runners may advance.
a bunt is where you hold your bat out in front of the plate holding the upper base and do not swing it
As soon as the ump calls the infield fly rule, the batter is out, but the runners can still advance at their own risk. To answer your question specifically, no, the fielder can't do that - that is the exact result that the infield fly rule was enacted to prevent! Usually when they call the infield fly rule, the baserunners go back to the bases relatively quickly, because the play is over.
no because the infield fly rule is if a ball is hit in the air for something like 5seconds then it is automttically an out
If the infielder is under the ball making it look like they are then yes there is an infield fly rule.
If the ball remains in fair territory and the batter reaches base safely, it's called an infield hit. If the ball stays in the infield, but rolls into foul territory, it's called a foul ball. Anything else is an out.
Infield fly rule