answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes they can.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-06-09 15:58:13
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

10 cards

Sample of oath of sportsmanship

What is the most common form of violence in sports

What sport was banned by European missionaries because it was considered immoral

What is another name for non-traditional sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter run to first on dropped 3rd strike bunt in Softball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can batter advance on dropped third strike?

yes, but he can be thrown out if the ball beats him to first after the dropped 3rd strike.


When is it necessary for a catcher to secure an out by tagging the batter or throwing to first on a strike out?

When there is a dropped 3rd strike


If a batter swings at a pitch in the dirt and it is the third strike and also the third out can the batter run to first base?

In softball yes.. if first base is not occupied.... but it depends on baseball and softball and what leval you play at


With two out can a batter on a third dropped strike run to first?

Yes.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


What is the rule in girl's softball on a dropped third strike with the bases loaded?

If less than 2 outs the batter would be out because 1st base is occupied. If 2 outs then the batter and runners can advance. The catcher or fielder must make the out by retrieving the dropped ball at which point they can tag home, tag the batter or throw the ball to first to make the put out.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike?

Absolutely but only if the batter safely reaches first base. A dropped (actually uncaught) third strike is a live ball.


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


What are the zones called in softball?

Strike Zone The strike zone is from the knee to shoulder of the batting softball player. The strike zone also extends as wide as a normal swing. A strike is called if the ball passes through the strike zone and reaches the catcher. The softball umpire will also call a strike if a batter swings and misses at a pitch outside the strike zone. Three strikes result in a batter being called out by the softball umpire. A ball is called for all pitches that miss the strike zone. Four balls allow a batter to walk to first base uncontested. Outfield These 3 zones are short, middle, and long. In the outfield.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


Is it an unearned run when the catcher throws to first to throw the batter out on a dropped third strike?

yes


Where a batter has a dropped third strike and make it to first what is this called?

It is recorded as a strike out and the batter/runner advance to 1st is due to a past ball or wild pitch which ever the case. In this situation the pitcher can record more than 3 strike out in 1 inning. There is no technical name it's just a dropped 3rd strike.


When does a batter need to be tagged after dropping strike 3?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.


In softball Canadian rules in order for the third strike rule to apply first base must be unoccupied Does that mean unoccupied when the third strike occured or when the batter got to the plate?

First base must be unoccupied when the third strike occurs. If there are 2 outs then first can be occupied and the batter/runner must be put out by tag or force at 1st.


Is the batter out when a dropped third strike goes into fair territory and hits the batter attempting to run to first base?

Only if, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter made deliberate contact with the ball.


In softball what is the rule for drop 3rd strike?

First of all, I'm assuming you are referring to fast pitch softball. the rule is that the batter is automatically out with a third strike ball is not caught by the catcher AND when first base is occupied AND there are less than two outs. The runners are not forced to advance but they can run at their own risk. If they do choose to run, a tag is required since this is not a force play. If the catcher drops the third strike, the batter can run to first base. But, the catcher can throw to first and get them out. This rule does not apply if there is a runner on first already, the batter just gets out.


Does a batter get a RBI on a wild pitch?

Good question. The only thing that would be close to a WILD PITCH RBI would be if the batter swung at the pitch for a third strike, which of course the catcher couldn't catch. There would have to be a runner on third, and the batter would have to be safe at first on the dropped third strike rule. I do not believe that this would truly be an RBI though, because technically, a dropped third strike is like a walk, the batter is not credited with a hit.


What happens if there is one out and a runner on first with the dropped third strike rule?

The drop third strike rule only applies when there is no runner on first base. In this case nothing would happen but the batter would be out.


How many ways can a batter reach first base in softball?

A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.


On dropped third strike if you tag the bat is the batter out?

No. You must tag the player or throw him out at first base - or get another runner out by force!!


Can runners advance on a dropped 3 rd strike and less than 2 outs?

Runners can advance in any case even with 2 outs. The batter is different. If first base is occupied with less than 2 outs then the batter cannot advance but everyone else can... It would be more of a steal than drop strike though. If there are 2 outs and he strikes out on a dropped strike, the batter is allowed to advance with a runner already occupying first. In any other case you can go whenever you please


Why was the pitch named the rise ball invented for softball use?

The rise ball is a very useful pitch in softball. A good rise ball begins looking like a strike so the batter will swing at it. However, by the time the ball reaches the batter, is it higher than it was when it first started out. The causes the batter to swing in miss since upward adjustments with a softball swing are very hard to make.


In baseball is it a dropped third strike if the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt with the count 2-2 and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on one bounce?

It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.


Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.