answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, but if it was two strikes, then he bunted a foul, then he would be out

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-11 03:09:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter be out on a third strike foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Do 3 foul balls equal 3 strikes?

yes and no. a foul ball on the third strike goes uncaught then it is not a third strike. if a foul ball is caught on the third strike, including a foul tip, the batter is out.


What happens when you foul tip the ball on the third strike and it hits the batter?

Well a foul tip is when on the third strike, the catcher catches the ball resulting in the batter being out. But if you are suggesting that on the third strike the batter fouls the ball off but it ends up hitting him it is a strike but the ball is dead, so the count stays the same.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is not caught is it an out?

Yes. Rule 6.05(d) of the MLB Rulebook states that a batter is out if "He bunts foul on third strike".


Can you strike out by four foul balls?

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.


What happens when you bunt a foul ball with two strikes out on hand?

If you bunt foul when you already have 2 strikes, you have just gotten your third strike. This is about the only way to get a 3rd strike on a foul ball. A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. All other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.


What happens when you bunt a foul ball with two strikes on hand?

If you bunt foul when you already have 2 strikes, you have just gotten your third strike. This is about the only way to get a 3rd strike on a foul ball. A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. All other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.


Does a foul ball count as a ball if the batter already has 2 strikes?

A foul ball never counts as a ball. In Major League Baseball, a foul ball only counts as the third strike if it's a foul tip that was caught by the catcher.


When is a foul ball not a strike or ball?

When there are already 2 strikes on the batter.


A batter is in the batters box the pitcher throws and the batter hits the ball into his foot and the ball goes foul but what is the call?

its a dead ball and a strike, but not strike 3, just like a foul.


What happens if the ball is 'bunted' on the 3rd strike in softball?

If the ball stays in fair territory, then everything is like a normal bunt. But if the ball is bunted into foul territory on a third strike, then the batter is automatically out.


Is a bunted foul third strike a dead ball?

Yes.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.

People also asked