answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-14 23:07:12
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.


If a balk occurs with bases loaded does the hitter advance to first base?

No. If a balk occurs with the bases loaded all three runners advance one base, however, the batter does not advance to first base.


When bases are loaded and two outs can the batter run down to first on a dropped third strike?

All that the rules say is the base must be unoccupied for the runner to advance with a dropped third strike. Now, in your situation there are two outs which changes things a little. It allows the runner on first to vacate the base by attempting to advance to second. If there is a runner on first with less than two outs the batter cannot attempt to take first on a dropped third strike no matter what the runner on first does. In your scenario as well, the bases are loaded so all runners must leave their base in order for the batter to advance to first making it a force play at home plate. All that the defense needs to do is step on home plate with the ball before the runner from third can successfully cross home plate in order to record the strike out.


Can the batter be called out on a bases loaded walk if he does not advance to first?

yes- if goes out of the baseline before he touches first base, he is out.


Does a walk after a strikeout passed ball with bases loaded count as earned run?

The question is confusing, but I'll try to answer it. If a pitcher strikes out a batter but the ball gets past the catcher, both the batter and all base runners may attempt to advance to the next base. The batter must advance to first, thus he put out on a force play at first. All other base runners who must advance on this play (ie, someone on first, or those on first and second) can also be forced out at the base they must advance to. Thus, if the bases are loaded on such a play, all runners must advance, and the runner on third could also be forced out at home. It's because of this fact, that the batter may ONLY advance to first after a dropped third strike when there are no runner force outs possible OR there are two outs. Otherwise, a catcher would "accidentally" drop the ball on a third strike in order to get a double play. Thus, if the bases are loaded and there is a passed ball on a third strike, the batter is out UNLESS there are already two outs. In that latter case, all runners must advance to the next base. A force-out at any base -- including home -- would end the inning with no runs. If the batter and all runners reach base safely (ie, the runner on third comes home), that would be an UNearned run because a runner scored on a passed ball. It would be unearned if the runner on third scored on a passed ball after a third strike or not -- runs are unearned if they result from the play of a fielder instead of the pitcher. One last thing -- if a fielder's play SHOULD have resulted in a third out, but doesn't, then ALL subsequent runs in that inning are unearned. In the batter gets to first on a passed ball on a third strike that should have been the third out, and the next batter gets a home run, then both runs are unearned. If the bizarre scenario I noted above -- dropped third strike on a passed ball with bases loaded with everyone safe (which MUST happen with two outs) -- occurred, and the next batter walked (also with bases loaded) thus getting another run, then that second run would also be unearned.


The bases loaded and there were two outs The batter drew a walk but did not advance to first but went immediately into the dugout The runner on third advanced on his own to home?

the batter is out and the run doesn't count


If the bases are loaded with two outs and the batter is hit in the hands in the act of swinging and cannot continue can he be called out and end the inning?

If the batter did not check his swing, (the bat came past home plate), a strike will be called. If he did check his swing, he will advance to first on a hit by pitch, scoring a run. In the former circumstance, the inning will be over if there were previously two strikes on the batter.


What is the rule in girl's softball on a dropped third strike with the bases loaded?

If less than 2 outs the batter would be out because 1st base is occupied. If 2 outs then the batter and runners can advance. The catcher or fielder must make the out by retrieving the dropped ball at which point they can tag home, tag the batter or throw the ball to first to make the put out.


With runners on 2nd and 3rd if the batter gets hit by a pitch can the runner on 3rd advance home?

No. When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead and no runners may advance. However, if the bases were loaded, then all runners are forced to advance and the runner from third would score.


Do you get an RBI on a bases loaded walk?

Yes, the batter that walks in a run due to the bases being loaded will receive credit for a RBI.


Does a batter get an RBI if the pitcher balks with bases loaded?

yes


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


Does a walk count as a RBI?

Yes, if a batter is walked with the bases loaded the batter is credited with an RBI.


If bases are loaded and batters swings and misses where do the runners go?

The runners stay on base unless: if it's strike 3, out 3, the inning is over and runners leave the field and switch to defense as long as the game isn't over; if it's a wild pitch and not strike 3, out 3, the runners can advance at their own risk; if it's strike 3 and not out 3 and the catcher fails to catch the ball, all runners (including the batter) can run to the next base


If the batter is hit by pitch with bases loaded in the bottom of 9th do ALL base runners need to touch their next base?

Yes, in Major League Baseball, all players need to advance to their next base with the bases loaded and the batter being hit regardless of the runner that is on third base being the winning run and therefore being the ending of the current game that's being played.


When a batter hits the ball out of the park with bases loaded?

That is called a "Grand Slam".


What is it called when a batter hits a home run with the bases loaded?

Grand slam


In softball what is it called when the bases are loaded and the batter hits a home run?

Grand Slam


If the bases are loaded and the batter kicks the ball what happens?

He can be called out for purposely getting hit.


With 2 outs and bases loaded batter swings at strike three catcher misses ball what is the call?

Its a live ball if the ball goes back to the backstop he can throw to first or if he blocks the ball he can step on home and get the runner out on third.


Can runners advance on a fly out with bases loaded?

Runners can attempt to advance on a fly out, provided that they tag up (touch the bade they are currently on after the ball is caught).


Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?

Yes


What happens if you throw your glove at the ball?

The batter may advance three bases if the thrown glove touches a batted ball, and runners may advance three bases. The ball is live and in play.The batter may advance two bases if the thrown glove touches a thrown ball, and runners may advance two bases. The ball is live and in play.


Do the base runners have to run when the bases are loaded and the batter hits the ball but gets out before reaching first base?

Yes. Since the batter is forced to run to first base the other runners are forced to advance. However, once the batter is put out at first base the other runners may attempt to go back to their original base.


How can you score from third in softball?

There are quite a few ways to score from 3rd base in softball: * You can steal * RBI * If the bases are loaded you can get walked in * If the bases are loaded the batter can get hit by pitch * If you are in 12u or about you can perform a delay steal