Yes. A balk can only be called if the catcher is out of the catchers box BEFORE the ball leaves the pitchers hand though. And any balk is charged on the pitcher
The vast majority of Balks are called on the pitcher, but a Balk can also be called on the catcher. With runners on base, if the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the pitcher releases the ball, it's Balk on the catcher. When this happens, it is almost always while attempting to give an intentional base on balls.
catcher's balk A rarely called violation of catcher's interference charged as a balk when a catcher leaves the catcher's box before the pitch is delivered, especially on an Intentional Base On Balls (IBB). The balk penalty would award the batter first base and any runners would advance.[Official Baseball Rules, 2004 Edition, published by Triumph Books], Rule 4.03(a)
The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.
A Catcher's Balk is the Catcher leaving his position in which he crouches at behind the home plate because in the rules, he is not allowed to move out of his crouch box which is allowed a Catcher's box as well until the Pitcher delivers the ball. In the event of a Catcher's Balk occurring, the runners would advance one base in the event of there being runners on base. Major League Baseball Umpires however don't typically call a Catcher's Balk.
One Answer:A balk can only be called on the pitcher. A balk is when a pitcher interrupts the pitching motion. Another Answer:In addition to the usual and commonly known reasons for a balk, here are a few others: Rule 4.03 - If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. All other players must be in fair territory (for example, if a first or third baseman is straddling the bag holding a runner on, both feet must be in fair territory) at the time the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, or it is a balk.Rule 7.07 - If a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and a fielder or the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk (charged against the pitcher).
i saw it happen and it looked like it was called as some sort of catchers balk or something
Rule 4.03(a) states "The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may leave his position at any time to catch a pitch or make a play except that when the batter is being given an intentional base on balls, the catcher must stand with both feet within the lines of the catcher's box until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. PENALTY: Balk." A "catcher's balk" is charged to the pitcher (for pitching when the catcher is out of the box), and has the same penalty as any other balk -- the runners advance one base. On June 24, 2004, John Shulock called such a balk on the Braves' Greg Maddux when he pitched while catcher Fernando Lunar's foot was out of the box. Bobby Cox argued the call and was ejected. The night before, Brewers' manager Davey Lopes had asked the umpires to enforce the rule against the Braves' catcher Javy Lopez, who was setting up far outside the box. This appears to be the only time this balk has been called in decades. Major League crew chief Tim McClelland has written "As a matter of fact, I have never seen it called, it's one of those things you just kind of let slide."
A balk can only be called when there are runners on base.
No. A balk only affects base runners. Each base runner gets to advance one base when a balk is called.
"After a Balk was called on the pitcher, the runners were allowed to advance one base."