yes if his hand touches the ground he is down but only if he is touched by contact and then touches the ground
No. A player is down only when a part of his body other than a hand or a foot touches the ground, or when the officials rule that his forward progress has been stopped.
No ... if the shoulder, elbow, forearm, or wrist touch the ground the ball carrier is also considered down.
A player is considered down in football when any part of their body, other than their hands or feet, touches the ground while in possession of the ball.
A football player is considered down on the field when any part of their body, other than their hands or feet, touches the ground while in possession of the ball.
A player is considered down in college football when any part of their body, other than their hands or feet, touches the ground while in possession of the ball.
In CFL football, a player is considered down when they are touched by an opponent while on the ground, or if they fall to the ground without being contacted by an opponent. Additionally, if a player with the ball's knee or any part of their body other than the feet touches the ground, they are also considered down. The play is whistled dead at that moment.
A person levitating
A tornado that touches the ground is simply a tornado. Before it touches down it is called a funnel cloud.
Each football league will have its own rules and regulations which may differ compared to other leagues.In other words, it depends on which league one is asking about.
If the ball touches the ground, the runner is down. This is why 'the ground cannot cause a fumble.'
A water pump
he can get up and run if he has not been touched yet. then he has to be tackled to be down, not "touched". The above is true in the NFL...the touch must have caused the fall or happened while the knee or elbow is on the ground. In college or ANY level below the play ends when the players knee or elbow touches regardless of the reason.
No. A player is down when his knee or back touches the ground. If the ball carrier loses the ball before this happens then it is called a fumble, and both teams try to recover the ball and whichever team does gains possession. Yes. The only thing allowed to touch the ground without you being 'down' is your hands and feet. We even have interpretation questions on whether the wrist and ankles are part of the hand/feet to determine if a player is down. If the ball touches the ground, the player is considered down. This is why the ground cannot cause a fumble. If it was a pass and the WR was deemed not in control of the pass, it is known as a dropped or incomplete pass. The player has to have complete control, but the ball can touch the ground. This is determining the completion of the catch, though, not whether the player is down or not.