answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes the first two foul balls are strikes unless there aree two strikes. A batter can not strike out on foul balls.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-08-13 14:12:48
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Are the first two foul balls strikes in a baseball game?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When are foul balls strikes?

Only the first 2 foul balls are counted as strikes unless a subsequent foul is a foul tip into the catches glove and they maintain possesion of it or the batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball goes foul. This would be strike three.


In a major league baseball game how many foul balls are you allowed at bat?

Unlimited number of foul balls. They all count as strikes until you have 2 strikes, then they don't mean a thing...


How many foul balls count as a strike out?

The first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.


How many strikes or balls will you get in a softball game?

In an at bat a batter as to get 4 balls before they walk. A walk meaning they get to be on first base. In a at bat where there are no foul balls they batter gets three strikes before they are out. If there are foul balls they count as pitches, but a batter can not strike out on a foul ball that is not caught.


Is foul ball counted as a strike?

It depends on how the game is being played. Most of the time, foul balls don't count as a strike; you can hit a ton of foul balls while you're up to bat and it won't matter. If you're playing a strict game of baseball, though, if you go up to bat and hit two foul balls, they count as strikes. Then, if you miss the ball or whatever, that would be your third strike. And you're out. :) Foul balls count as strikes when every the batter does not have two strikes, once a batter gets two strikes foul balls are no longer counted as strikes.


Is a foul ball counted as a strike in softball?

The first two foul balls count as strikes 1 and 2. After that, it is not a strike.


How many foul balls are allowed before a batter is out?

There is no limit to the number of fouls in the MLB.The only rules about foul balls is if a batter attempts to bunt with two strikes and the ball is bunted foul, the batter is called out. But there is no limit to the number of foul balls a batter can hit when swinging at the pitch.This is true. However, the first 2 foul balls that are hit and not caught are considered strikes. After that, there is no limit to the amount of foul balls that can be hit, as long as they're not caught.


Why after 2 strikes in baseball don't count foul balls as strikes?

Because you can't get called out on a foul ball if it wasn't caught in the air. you can get out on a foul ball after 2 strikes. mainly people just think of the swinging foul being the only possibility but there are people who will bunt with 2 strikes and they are called out on a foul ball. it doesnt happen that much but it still happens.


A batter who has 2 strikes and 3 balls is said to have full count?

Yes, 3 Balls and 2 strikes is considered a "full count" meaning that the next strike you receive you are out (strike out) or the next ball you get you receive a walk (or 'bases on balls').Foul balls don't count towards your strike total when you have 2 strikes, if you foul a ball off with 2 strikes you have to "do it again" and your count remains the same.


How many fowl balls in a row happened in baseball?

FOUL BALLS


Is a strike considered a foul in baseball?

No, however a foul is considered a strike if you have one or none strikes.


How many foul balls can a batter have?

You can technically have infinite foul balls (assuming they go out of the playing field and are not caught). The exception is if there are already 2 strikes and you foul the ball off but it goes right into the catchers mitt. Then you're out. Also, if they're are 2 strikes and you attempt a bunt and hit it foul then you are out. ---------- Above answer is almost correct... A batter can hit an unlimited number of fouls, but a foul that is caught in the air is not counted as a foul. It's simply an out. Also, a ball that is hit straight back to the catcher who then catches it is not a foul...it is a "foul tip," and the ball is still alive, so that's not a foul either. And it doesn't matter if there are 2 strikes, or 1 strike or 0 strikes, or what the count is at all.

People also asked