Best Answer

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.

Is the runner safe when the fielder knocks down the ball when it is hit to first base and while he is on the ground with the ball in his left hand the player touches first base with his glove only?

I assume the question means the fielder is on the ground (floor?) either case, the fielder legally tagged the base while holding the ball firmly and the batter is out. See definition of "tag" in baseball rules. It is the same as the firstbaseman touching (tagging) first with his foot while the ball is in his glove. This would not be true if the runner is not forced, in which case the fielder must tag the runner with the ball held firmly in his hand or glove.

Is the runner out if the fielder touches him with his body and not the ball?

No, he must be tagged with the ball, either while still in the glove or with the ball. He can't just be touched with the glove without the ball in it either.

Can a base runner knock the ball out of a fielders glove?

Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe

Is it an out if the glove with the ball touches a base and then pops out of the glove?

This would probably be the judgment of the umpire. If he felt the ball was under control as the fielder touched the base, the runner would be out. If he felt that the ball was not fully under control and hitting the base caused the ball to come out of the glove, the runner would be safe.

Is a runner out if the first baseman is in foul territory and has the ball in one hand and touches the base with and empty glove?

yes because he has the ball in his possession when he touches the base so it is like touching the base with his foot.

When a player steals and the fielder tags runner and his glove falls off and ball stays in glove is he safe or out?

The runner would be safe. This is the same as if the ball were dislodged and falls out of the glove.

If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

I will assume you mean when a batter has hit a ground ball to an infielder and the throw to first pulls the first baseman off the bag. On any force play, and the above would be considered a force play since the batter is forced to run when (s)he hits the ball, the batter would be called out because it is only necessary to have full possession of the ball and touch the base before the runner does.

Is it always an error when the fielder touches the ball with his glove?

no when you are diving and that stuff is a hit if they drop it

How can a center fielder get a double play without ever touching the ball?

On an offensive standpoint, I'll say if the center fielder grounds out while there is at least one base runner directly at the next bag. On defense, if the center fielder catches the ball with their glove and runs to a base in which the base runner did not "tag up" or keep their foot on the bag while they were waiting for the ball to be caught. If that's considered touching the ball, then I'm not sure :)

During a force out at second base if the fielder does not transfer the ball to the covering defender but merely holds onto the ball in the other fielders glove is the runner out?

if the umpire thinks the fielder with the glove "has control of" the ball, then runner is out. i can't imagine this happening.

Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?

MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.