answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, he must be tagged with the ball, either while still in the glove or with the ball. He can't just be touched with the glove without the ball in it either.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2012-07-18 01:01:57
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the runner out if the fielder touches him with his body and not the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

On a force play can a fielder touch the base with his glove while holding the ball in his other hand to get the runner out?

Yes, if it is a force out, as long as the fielder has the ball in his possession (glove or free hand) if he touches the bag before the runner with any part of his body then the runner would be called out. Now if this was a play that required a tag, and the ball was in his bare hand and the tag is made with the glove, or visa-versa, then the runner is safe


If a fielder has the ball in their hand and tags the runner with the empty glove is the runner out?

No, the runner would not be out. The fielder would have had to have tagged the runner with the ball itself or with the ball was in the glove in order for the runner to be out. For more clarification: "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" This is directly from the Major League rules. Tagging is not just tagging a runner off base. Tagging can also be throwing a runner out as per Major League rules. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp Read rule 7.08


If a ball is hit between first and home and is in foul territory but is touched by a player standing in fair territory before the ball hits the ground is it fair or fowl ball?

The position of the fielder's body or feet, have absolutely nothing to do with judging whether a ball is fair or foul. The judgment is based solely upon the relationship between the BALL and the LINE at the moment the fielder touches the ball, or at the moment the ball comes to a stop, or on outfield fly balls; the moment it touches the fielder or the ground.


What is a fielding error?

if a ball is hit to the any fielder and it hits any part of his body and he misses. if aresult of that is the base runner is safe. that is a error


Can a fielder catch a ball with his body?

yes


Can a first baseman force out a runner by touching first base with his non glove hand while he has the ball in his glove?

Yes. For a force play, a fielder who is holding the ball can get the out by touching the base with any part of his or her body. Usually the fielder uses his or her foot, but it can also be a hand or glove, whether or not the ball is in that hand.


It requires a fielder in possession of the ball touch the ball to the base?

You can touch the base with the ball if you want to. Any part of the fielder's body can touch a base as long as he has possession of the ball.


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?

MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.


If an infielders foot interferes with a baserunner is the baserunner out when tagged?

If a fielder is making a play, he has the right to block the base with any part of his body, so, yes, he would be out. So it would depend if the fielder was making a play. If the ball is not hit or thrown to the fielder then it is obstruction and the runner is awarded the base the umpire feels he would of reached.


Is a ball fair or foul if the fielder has one foot in fair territory and one foot in foul?

The location of the fielder's body has no bearing on whether a ball is fair or foul. It is the location of the ball when it is touched by the fielder or when it goes by the base that determines whether it is fair or foul.


Can a fielder tag a base with any body part for a force out in baseball?

Yes, as long as the fielder has complete possession of the ball any part of their body touching the base creates a force out.


What is meant by double touch in volleyball?

I'm pretty sure it is when the ball touches two parts of a player's body in succession, or when a player touches the ball twice in a row.

People also asked