answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes it still is a force the runner has to go

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A runner is on 1st and 2nd a ball is hit to the pitcher he drops the ball and the 2nd base runner steps on 3rd and heads back to 2nd and realizes the pitcher drops the ball is it still a force out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is it a force out at second base if the out at first occurs before the out at second?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


Bases loaded 1 out ball is hit to firstbaseman who tags runner and throws home is it a force at home still and can runners revert?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


What are the natural forces that affect running?

Drag. This is the force which acts against a runner and is the resultant force of the runner pushing against the particles in the air. Drag is affected by the mass and surface area of the runner. Friction is another force which can affect running.


Can a tag be considered a force out?

On a force out, you may either tag the base the runner is being forced to, or you may tag the runner before he gets to that base. If it is not a force out, you must tag the runner while he is off whatever base he has a legal right to occupy.


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


Can a runner score before a force out is made at second after a failed attempt of making a force out at first?

IF you mean there are 2 outs then the answer is no, if the out is a force out then the run doesn't count even if the runner touched home before the ball reached the force out bag.


If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


If bases are loaded and the batter is tagged out is there still a force out on the other runners?

No. But this rule does not come into effect until AFTER the force out at first base occurs. In other words, until that force out at first happens, the runner who was on first must advance. But AFTER the force out occurs, the runner who was on first need not do so. If a first baseman steps on first and then immediately fires to second base, the person covering second base must tag out the runner coming towards second base. I've seen twenty-year veterans of MLB forget this -- they take the throw from the first baseman after a force out at first base, step on second base, and then walk away without tagging the runner.


Does the runner score when the third out is made on a force play?

No, the force play negates the scoring of the run.


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


If a runner is going to steal from first base to second base and the pitcher throws the ball to the first baseman can the runner run to second instead of going back to first?

I think the stealing rule in Little League is NO leading, runner cannot start running until the ball crosses the strike zone or is hit by the batter.There are no lead-offs in Little League. (except Senior & Big League)Correct answerIf a runner is heading back to the base when the pitcher is on the mound, he MUST go back to the base, otherwise he can be called out. Now if you get a secondary lead after the pitch already crossed the plate, and you do not start to head back to your base, then you may advance as the pitcher is getting on the rubber, this would be considered a "delayed steal" --- however, you must make your motion to advance BEFORE the pitcher is on the rubber, otherwise you must retreat back to your base