answersLogoWhite

0

What happens if you move out at 17?

Updated: 10/5/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago

Best Answer

Your parents are responsible for you until your 18th birthday. Legally, you cannot move out without their permission. If there are hardship or abuse issues, you can petition the court to have yourself legally emancipated before you turn 18.

User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

17y ago

This is not legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Consult the specific laws for the state and county in which you reside for the rules that apply. In most states, any 18 year old is considered an adult and is capable of deciding when and where they reside. They have the ability to contract for housing. SOME states allow minors to become emancipated under specific circumstances, but this is not just a matter of filling out some paperwork. A minor is the responsibility of their parents until such time as they reach the age of majority or are legally emancipated. The parents are required to provide for the support of their minor children. If the parents give permission, the minor can live in another location. Such permission does not relieve the parents of the responsibility to provide support. If the parents do not give permission, the minor can be considered a runaway. Charges may apply to individuals that aid and abet such runaways, particularly if they are under the age of consent. In some states it is my understanding that this is not enforced for 17 year olds that leave home. If you are subject to abuse, you should contact social services for your area. They will assist you in getting out of the bad environment and into a safe place. You cannot legally move out in any state without parental consent until you reach the age of majority. In Nebraska and Alabama the age of majority is 19, in Mississippi and Washington D.C. the age is 21, in all other US states the age of majority is 18. A minor can leave home against the wishes of his or her parents, but parents in all US states have legal recourse to have the minor returned to their custody or be relieved of their parental responsibilities to their minor child.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens if you move out at 17?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If you move out at 17 without parental consent what happens?

If you move out at 17 without parental consent, you can be reported as a runaway. Depending on the laws in your area, you may be required to return home or could face legal consequences. It is important to understand the legal implications of leaving home at a young age.


If your parents give you permission to move out at 17 are they still responsible if something happens to you?

Generally speaking, if you have not been emancipated, then your parents can still be held responsible.


Can you be 17 years old and move out in Nebraska?

No you may not move out at 17. In Nebraska you must be 19 to move out without permission.


How does a 17 year old move out in Georgia?

you just leave! you are able to move out at age 17


If I'm 17 can you move out from home I have a place to stay for free?

No, legally you cannot move out at 17


Can you move out at 17 in macoupin county Illinois?

In Illinois, you can only move out at 17 with the consent of a parent.


Does a pregnant 17 yr old have the right to move out in the state of Missouri?

Yes you can move out at 17 in Missouri.


If I become emancipated at 17 can i move in with a friend who is 22?

If i become emancipated at 17 can I move in with a friend who is 22?


Can a 17 year old girl in tn move out and live with her boyfriend in Arizona?

A 17 year old can't move out from TN and move in with her boyfriend in Arizona without parental permission. If the parents approve, the 17 year can move out.


Can you move out when you're 17 if your parents consent?

yes if you have parents consent you can move out at 17


What happens when rocks move?

They move and go disco


What happens in the state of New Jersey if you run away at the age of 17 and they don't find you until you are 18 and can they do anything to you once you turn 18 if you ran away at 17?

once you turn 18 everyone forgets about it..have a great life & move on