answersLogoWhite

0

You don't have to say either. No Chess rule requires it, and it may be distracting to your opponent or those around you in a tournament. If you achieve checkmate, you should offer a handshake, or do whatever you normally do to conclude your games, but you do not have to say "checkmate."

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
EzraEzra
Faith is not about having all the answers, but learning to ask the right questions.
Chat with Ezra
More answers

Actually,

Nope... but if you're a little bit, you know like: "Hahahaha, Check mate you St**id," like that... yes, if it is really a checkmate... but there are many types of winning the chess...

Vocabulary:

Checkmate: When the king, the most important piece in chess,(maybe in the castles too.) doesn't have any place to move! And a piece of the check mating person checks the king of the one to be mate.

Stalemate: Happening when the king to be mate has no place to move but no piece has checked it... then it's a tie!

Check: A piece is threatening the king (though a king couldn't be eaten). The king should be moved, block or eating the threatening piece.

Kinds of winning the game CHESS!

1.) Resigning

It is the method of winning the game by the person who thinks that he will lose and no signs of hope..... then he or she could resign.... then you wins!

2.) Mating

The most, of course it's famous! letting the enemy's king mated.... no place to move with a piece checking it....

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

No, you do not need to say "checkmate" on the first move. But if you actually checkmate him, say "checkmate" or just "mate" to remind the opponet you won.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

No. Declaring a check/checkmate is not required since most players know when they are in check or checkmate. If they don't notice, then point it out to them.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

no,
check means that the king is in danger of being captured but may evade it in some way

checkmate means that the game is over because the king has no way to escape capture

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

You say 'Checkmate' when the King is under attack and has no spaces or options to move to or to remove the attack. The person 'checkmated' loses that game.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Yes. If you fail to speak the word, you forfeit the game. If you say, "Checkmate", and it turns out that indeed, it is NOT checkmate, you forfeit the game.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

if you cant move when your the king then yes and yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
User Avatar

Never .. Ever

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When do you say checkmate when playing chess?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp